BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

on November 26, 2008

twilight

“Twilight, again. Another ending. No matter how perfect the day is, it always has to end.

At first I was hesitant in reading this Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer, because It is not really part of my genre. I don’t usually read romance books. My friends told me before that it is a good book and my time wont waste at all. But I still didn’t buy it . After all, I still got lots on my reading list at that time. Then I’ve heard about the filming of the movie adaptation. That’s make it interesting for me, so I start checking online. I’ve check for synopsis and book reviews, which is quite good. When I finally decided that I’ll buy to read the first book I headed to the bookstore after work. Surprisingly I cannot find not even one copy of it. According to the lady at the bookstore they were run out of copies and the least I can do is to get a reservation for it. Which I didn’t do. I check online sellers the day after that and I got lot’s of choices but I do not want the bidding process. So I tried the electronic books. I got all the complete series online and it’s free. I just don’t know if it’s legal. But don’t worry I still plan to buy the complete series of the saga. I like the thrill in finding books that are hard to locate. But I have to settle first in ebook in order to read the first book before watching the adaptation. I promised not to see the movie adaptation until I’m done reading the book. I was quite surprised that I can read a novel that long using a computer. It is worst for my eyes but I just can’t help it. As I start reading the first part, the story just sinks in and I can’t help but finished it. Don’t ask how long it took me, because I don’t even know how long.

The book is not a typical vampire romance, at least not as I imagined. The story is told from Bella’s perspective, which narrate only what she knows. Though some of the mysteries is slowly unraveled through out the book. While reading the book I imagine some fighting scenes before the end. Unfortunately I did not get a little more action as I imagined. Twilight is simply yet beautifully written. The author writing style is easy to read. She has great way of keeping the flow of the story. Somehow I can say that it did not waste my time and effort.

SYNOPSIS OF TWILIGHT

When seventeen year-old Bella Swan leaves sunny Arizona to live with her father in the small and gloomy Pacific North-West town of Forks she doesn’t expect to like it. After all she has made excuses not to go there enough times over the past few years. If living in Forks, with its constant mist and rain, wasn’t bad enough she will have to make a whole new set of friends and settle into a new school.

Bella soon makes some new friends at school but when she sees a boy called Edward Cullen sitting with his brothers and sisters in the cafeteria she is instantly intrigued. Edward is stunningly attractive, almost inhumanly beautiful, and yet he is an outsider too. Although Edward and his family have lived in Forks for two years they have never really been accepted by the townsfolk.

When Bella sits next to Edward Cullen in class on her first day of school, Edward seems utterly repulsed by her. He even attempts to change his schedule to avoid her, leaving Bella completely puzzled about his attitude towards her. After tricking a family friend, Jacob Black, into telling her the local tribal legends, Bella concludes that Edward and his family are vampires. Although she was inexplicably attracted to him even when she thought Edward drank human blood, she is much relieved to learn that the Cullens choose to abstain from drinking human blood, and drink animal blood instead. Edward reveals that he initially avoided Bella because the scent of her blood was so desirable. Over time, Edward and Bella fall in love.

Edward and his whole family are vampires. For Edward his love for Bella is both a delight and a torment. A delight because she is the first person he has loved since he was made a vampire. A torment because although he has sworn off human blood and only hunts animals the craving for human blood never truly leaves him and the very scent of her also stirs his hunger for blood….

One response to “Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

  1. […] if after few years my copies will end up on a donation box just like the hardbound box set of Twilight Saga that I own few years ago. In the end, I give in and dive in once again to this fallen angels […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

