Books · Movies · REVIEWS

Peaceful Warrior (2006)

I just watched Peaceful Warrior last night, thanks to Ian Somerhalder who suggested the book as a good read. I wouldn’t know about the book or the movie adaptation if I haven’t seen his interview. The movie was released on June 2006, based on Dan Millman autobiography novel – “Way of the Peaceful Warrior“. I’m sure there are lot’s of reviews for this movie already, so I’m not writing one even I want to. I’ll just try to explore more about the film’s preachy lessons which is overly cluttered and somehow redundant in the script. They are each a bit of truth about life and are stated so simply that they feel like an unveiled realization.

“How do you know that you haven’t been asleep your whole life? How do you know you’re not asleep right now?”

These two questions makes me pause for awhile. One of the most powerful and thought-provoking lines from the film. I found my self asking the same questions and still not sure about the answer or maybe in denial. Maybe I’m half-sleep and half-awake, busy doing all my stuffs everyday but not really sure why do I need to do all things like most of us.

“Everybody tells you what to do and what’s good for you . They don’t want you to find your own answers. They want you to believe theirs.”

There are lots of people I know who falls in this category – the “know it all” person. And sometimes I’m also one of them. I do believe that it is wiser to learn from someone experiences. Why make the same mistakes if you can benefit from other’s mistakes? But there are things worth experiencing in life, no matter how difficult it may be. Experience is really a great teacher.

“Life is a mystery; don’t waste time figuring it out.”

I am a victim of this unending search trying to figure out what my life is all about. Up to now, I honestly don’t know what is my greater purpose. I wish someone could tell me. There are so many plans and goals that seems unending.

“Don’t fall into the trap — If only I had this, I’d be … If only … , I’d get to be happy.”

Sometimes life is an if-then-else statement for me. Everything is connected to something else.

“If you don’t get what you want, you suffer. And even when you get exactly what you want, you still suffer because you can’t hold on to it forever.”

If this is the case, I better get what I want even If I suffer in the end. At least I experience getting it than not at all. And why thus it sounds like a love quotation – “It’s better to love and lost than to never have loved at all”?

“A warrior does not give up what he loves, he finds the love in what he does.”

There are people who are stuck doing something they don’t really love, but they keep on doing it anyway. As if they don’t have a choice. Like in a workplace, some people go to work everyday to do their job and make a living but don’t really enjoy what they are doing. But when you find your passion and love what you do, work doesn’t become work anymore.

There are some philosophy in this film that are contradicting but still everything has it own sense of truth about it.

Overall this movie is a powerful tale of enlightenment and redemption that conveys emotional uplift to viewers. Probably the most important lesson is how to keep getting back up when life knocks you down and how to continue to follow your dreams, even after your world is shattered. I plan to read the book and hopefully I can get a copy soon. As I checked online the local bookstore doesn’t have available copy of it. I’ll just try to find a copy somewhere else. For other inspirational quotes from the movie, check my previous post.

One thought on “Peaceful Warrior (2006)

  1. Great blog you have!
    I believe you might have misunderstood this quote ” A warrior does not give up what he loves, he finds the love in what he does.”
    As I have understood, then we should do everything (even an uninteresting job) with great attention and care. It’s all about having gratitude for what IS now…..and not future might bring. 🙂 Based on the book. Haven’t seen the movie though. Would definetly recommend the book. One of the most interesting books I have ever red. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

