BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Brida by Paulo Coelho

on September 5, 2010

“When you find your path, you must not be afraid. You need to have sufficient courage to make mistakes. Disappointment, defeat, and despair are the tools God uses to show us the way.”

This is the second book of Paulo Coelho that I have read, the first one is  The Alchemist which I like. But Brida is a lot differ. I’m a bit disappointed to this book. It took me months to finished it. I have to put it down once in awhile and pick up something more interesting in between my read. As much as I want to finish this book, it hardly get my interest and the more I read the more I get disappointed. I try to keep my optimism hoping that the book might have a great ending to make up for it, but when I finally got to the end, there’s nothing much. I liked The Alchemist because of the author’s sweet insights which nowhere to find in Brida. Alchemist provides the mystical possibilities in life and a touch of innocence in the story.

Brida is about a young Irish girl who went out to search for the meaning of love and to learn about magic. She has long been interested in various aspects of magic but is searching for something more. Her search leads her to people of great wisdom, who begin to teach Brida about the spiritual world. She met the Magus who taught her about the Tradition of the Sun, and Wicca who taught her about the Tradition of the Moon. As Brida seeks her destiny, she struggles to find a balance between her relationships and her desire to become a witch.

The book keep on talking about tradition of the sun and the tradition of the moon but I still feel vauge about those two sciences. As if it wasn’t explained in a satisfiying way. It seemed as if it was supposed to teach some great mystical lesson, but it fell flat for me. Brida the female protagonist is not an interesting character. I can write a lot of reasons why I hate this book but the more I list the more I feel cheated. I feel sorry for buying this book, it is highly costly and it didn’t even deliver few of my expectations.

Leave a Reply

