Movies · REVIEWS

Eat Pray Love (Film)

Liz Gilbert had everything a modern woman is supposed to dream of having — a husband, a house, a successful career — yet like so many others, she found herself lost, confused, and searching for what she really wanted in life. Newly divorced and at a crossroads, Gilbert steps out of her comfort zone, risking everything to change her life, embarking on a journey around the world that becomes a quest for self—discovery. In her travels, she discovers the true pleasure of nourishment by eating in Italy; the power of prayer in India, and, finally and unexpectedly, the inner peace and balance of true love in Bali. Based upon the bestselling memoir by Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love proves that there really is more than one way to let yourself go and see the world.

I don’t feel commenting much on the film technicalities right now since there’s nothing much really new or nice to comment. I’ll just try to explore more on what I think I appreciate from this film, which mostly came from Liz first travel adventure – Italy. In Italy Liz learn to experience life again. She instantly fall in love with the people, the place, and the language. She learned the joy of living life fully. Living with joy and living in the moment. She discovered the concept of la dolce vita or the sweet life. Which simply means living and enjoying every moment. It is enjoying a picnic by yourself on the floor while wearing a negligee. It is eating Thanksgiving turkey for breakfast with friends. It is loving yourself with all the gray hair, stretch marks and extra flab. She experience again how to eat without feeling guilty or worrying about gaining weight.

Watching the scenery of Italy gives me again the desire to travel. I love to travel, I enjoy seeing new places, exploring different cultures and traditions. And this film give me a part of that experience. It makes me want to see those wonderful places in the movie, especially Italy. I want to have my first hand experience with the historical beauty of Rome, taste those lavishing food and learn the language. I wish I also have an entire year for myself, to travel with unlimited funds and experience a part of that life. A year to experience different culture and traditions. A year to see the world in a different view. A year to discover myself and some of life lessons.

2 thoughts on “Eat Pray Love (Film)

  1. share ur trip with me in rome.. i am inspired w/ the movie as well.. the book is kinda long-sitting to read ^_^ and YES to travel with ultimate funds… IS A MUST and that’s the bad news for me ^_^

    Like

    1. I don’t have yet the unlimited funds to go to Rome or any place near Europe. Lets visit Asia first. We’re planning to go to SG next year. You might want to join us for a few days of tour ^__^

      Like

Leave a Reply

