Books

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

“ How far are you willing to fall?”

Book description from Goodreads:

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her…until Patch comes along.
With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment, but after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Personal Thoughts:

I’ve been eying to read Becca Fitzpatrick‘s Hush, Hush since early this year but after knowing it’s a series I decided to just wait until the released of the second book (Crescendo). It’s quite hard to get a hardbound copies of both two books until few weeks ago. So I make sure first that I have a copies of both books in hand before diving in to a new angel stories.

The book cover ( dark mysterious fallen angel, contorted in mid-air in gray scale that add touch of darkness) is quite good which rises my expectations for the book. I expected it to be a dark novel, though it doesn’t reached much of my expectations but it’s not bad either. This is not the first book I’ve read with fallen angels stories so comparison can’t be avoided.

As for the history and background of the fallen angels, this book doesn’t offer much. It’s quite simple and underdeveloped. It doesn’t even give much justice to angels histories and some biblical stories in the background. I know for a fact that the story is fictional but a few realistic background wont hurt. I just hope that the second installment of the series will give much of those missing backgrounds.

As for the characters, I got a bit confused. I’m not sure If I love them or hate them or maybe just both. Nora is a normal teenager which is easy to relate too. She’s a strong, practical, responsible, smart, and independent girl. She’s never been boy crazy, hasn’t found a boy that can really hold her interest, and she’s very much focused on her studies. That’s how the book describes her but in the end she’s not as smart or responsible as she is supposed to be. I think she was a little less analytical than she thought she was.

Patch is the representation of a typical bad boy. You know that he’s no good for you, yet you can’t get enough of him. He’s aggressive, cocky, dangerous, even creepy at times. I like that he’s so flawed and complex. What bother me somehow is while the book keep telling that Patch is a bad boy, Patch never actually does anything that is bad in the entire book. I keep on asking myself while reading upto the end, what he really do that makes him bad? Is there something I missed? But no, it just feels to me that the author had way too many ‘bad guys’ in this book.

What I really like about this book is the writing. The pacing and flow of events are just well written. It’s like riding a roller coaster, the story moves in a fast pace and before you know it, it’s over. Not dragging at all, in fact it’s quite hard for me to put it down once I started reading. The language also flowed well even it was mostly driven by dialogue as opposed to descriptive scenes.

There is a constant thrill about the story especially the paranormal element like the stalking part. I love when a book can keep me guessing. Even most of my guesses turned out right it’s still nice to be engage in the story while reading.

Overall, the book was a decent read. The ending felt a bit anticlimactic but I’m still excited to read the sequel, Crescendo. Can’t wait to know what will happen next, hopefully a more engaging and darker story.

4 thoughts on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. i haven’t read the book but i was reading a lot of reviews about it from goodreads and livingsocial and there were more bad reviews than good ones so i was apprehensive to buy it 😦

    btw, the cover’s concept is actually taken from an artist rendition of Icarus(looks exactly the same..lol)-the boy who made wings bound by wax & flew too close to the sun, melting the wax and falling . Certainly not an angel. Not original book cover concept, if I might add

    Like

  2. I have read all the books and now im waiting for the finale book “Finale” and i agree that Patch doesnt really do anything bad but his whole pressence just seems bad with the dark clothes and that he doesnt really give much off of his personality when i first read the books i fell in love with Patch i dont usally do that with characters in books and i read ALOT of books.
    And Eds you should definatky buy the series its absolutly worth it you will get hooked!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

