BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Upcoming Book-to-Movie Adaptations

on January 28, 2011

There are couple of movie adaptation of popular books that are set to release this year. Some of them are already out in cinema. And here are the three upcoming movie that will be available in cinema soon. This doesn’t include those that will be released after March 2011. Such as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, The Hobbit, Water for Elephants, Breaking Dawn, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and a lot more.

I Am Number Four

Based based on the novel I Am Number Four, written by Jobie Hughes and James Frey. This is one of the film I anticipated for 2011 after seeing the trailer last year. I haven’t read the book yet and I have no intention of reading it. The last time I read James Frey’s book I never finished it. But the film looks pretty good.

Jane Eyre

Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre is one of the few classics I’ve read when I was in college. I can’t remember much if I did enjoy the book back then or not. I’m thinking of rereading the book now but not a chance for me. With so much in my to-read-list I don’t have much time for rereading. I’m just glad to discover that there will be an upcoming movie due to released this March 11, 2011. I just watched the trailer and I can’t help but be excited to see the movie soon.

Beastly

Based on Alex Flinn’s 2007 supernatural romance novel of the same name. It was expected to be released on July this year but moved to March 18, 2011. It is a retelling of the fairytale Beauty and the Beast set in modern-day New York City. And since I love the Disney version of Beauty and the Beast, I can’t let this one pass.

Large number of books are also in development for movie adaptation for 2012 and 2013. Such as Fallen by Lauren Kate, The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins, Incarceron by Catherine Fisher, Matched by Ally Condie and The Mortal Instruments City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare. So much movie releases to watch out.

2 responses to “Upcoming Book-to-Movie Adaptations

  1. Mera Sampson says:

    I haven’t read I am Number Four either but I really liked the movie! I haven’t seen Jane Eyre yet, though I’m itching to, and I read and saw Beastly both good, but the book was of course better!

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      I also watched the movie I am Number Four but still haven’t read the book yet. I’m not into sci-fi reads lately 🙂

      I got the chance to see Beastly during the advance screening and I agree that the book is better. I even posted a comparison here in the blog. As for Jane Eyre, I never get to see that one. I think it never shown here locally. not sure though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

