Books · REVIEWS

Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Live today. Not yesterday. Not tomorrow. Just today. Inhabit your moments. Don’t rent them out to tomorrow.”

Book description from Goodreads:

LOVE, STARGIRL picks up a year after Stargirl ends and reveals the new life of the beloved character who moved away so suddenly at the end of Stargirl. The novel takes the form of “the world’s longest letter,” in diary form, going from date to date through a little more than a year’s time. In her writing, Stargirl mixes memories of her bittersweet time in Mica, Arizona, with involvements with new people in her life.

In Love, Stargirl, we hear the voice of Stargirl herself as she reflects on time, life, Leo, and – of course – love.

Personal Thoughts:

I enjoy the first book, Stargirl, so I’m eager to read the sequel, Love Stargirl. But when I started reading the book and found out it’s in a diary format my expectations suddenly drop. As I said before with my other reviews, diary format books are not personally appealing to me which makes Love, Stargirl doesn’t count as of my one sitting read. In fact, it becomes my in-between read for a week, grabbing it once in awhile for killing time.

I love Stargirl character so much from the first book which is the main reason why I didn’t give up reading this book inspite of a slow beginning. Reading Stargirl personal thoughts is something different. She is more reachable now compare in Leo’s point of view. Her pain and happiness is more visible now but the mystery in her character is lost. As if she becomes an ordinary girl which is not so herself, not the same person I encounter in the first book. In Leo’s eyes Stargirl is magical. She’s unique, independent and strong, qualities that I really miss from Stargirl.

As for the other charaters in this book, Dootsie is the most interesting addition. Somehow I’m seeing Stargirl in her. She’s a little version of Stargirl, cheerful, humorous with classic childlike innocence. We aslo got to see Stargirl parents in the story. They obviously love their daughter and help her whenever they can. They even do silly things for her and accept her for who she is and encourage and supports her in whatever she is trying to do.

Not as quite as powerful as the first book Love Stargirl still reminds us to look life in a different way. To see the beauty in simple things around us. Like how a tiny beam of light filter through a small hole to brighten up the darkness can mean the world. Behind the heartbroken Stargirl we willl see more hope and healing.

As much as I love the first book, Love, Stargirl doesn’t pass the same level for me. I wanted to like it more than I did. I wanted it to soar like the first book or at least remain in that level. But it doesn’t make it. It is still a charming book but somehow Stargirl the character looses some of her bright in this book.

2 thoughts on “Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

  1. I’ve read star girl, so has the other members of GB. Both Myra and Fats read Love, Stargirl and they also felt that the first book was far better than the this one. I think that’s why no matter how many times i feel like buying this book i hesitate.

    Like

  2. I love the first book Stargirl but I haven’t get the chance to read this one yet. I’m a bit hesitant. Afraid that I’d be disappointed because I’ve heard from friends that this one is a let down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

