BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris

on April 7, 2011

Book Description from Goodreads:

Sookie Stackhouse is just a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. Until the vampire of her dreams walks into her life-and one of her coworkers checks out….

Maybe having a vampire for a boyfriend isn’t such a bright idea.

A fun, fast, funny, and wonderfully intriguing blend of vampire and mystery that’s hard to put down, and should not be missed. (Susan Sizemore)

Personal Thoughts:

I’ve heard so much about The Southern Vampire Mysteries novels by Charlaine Harris. Chai has been trying to lend me her own copies of the series last year but I’m not really interested reading another vampire books at that time. I am also aware that there is an HBO series, True Blood which I haven’t seen yet that is based from these books. When I got my own copy of the first book I decided to give it a try, mainly because of the mystery part. After reading though I don’t understand why so many people have been raving about this book.

The story moved a little too slow for my taste, though there are lot of things happenings it can’t keep me much interested. As if the book is not sure what it wants to be or what it wants to be about. It has a mind reader protagonist, a vampire mythology and mystery killer on the lose. But with all these things the plot doesn’t deliver well. The first few chapters is slow. Reading about Sookie Stockhouse daily routine is not something I would love to read. Even with her ability to read minds she can’t keep me much interested. As a mind reader she has the potential to be an interesting character but this book doesn’t give much depth to her. With the exception Sookie and Bill, the characters are a bit one dimensional. I can’t hardly care about them as if they just all pass by on the story.

The writing is nothing remarkable but since the book is slim it pass as a short read. The world building is well built. There were vampires, synthetic blood, shape-shifter and mind reader. One thing that helps me finished this book is the curiosity to know who is the mysterious killer in Sookie’s little town. I want to find out if my speculation is correct. But the mystery part of the book took a back seat, almost makes me lose my interest. The mystery ending were stumble across rather than working out logically by the characters. Too bad Sookie’s mind reading ability doesn’t contribute much in knowing the killer.

I know there are lot’s of readers who adore this book, but it doesn’t really work for me. This is the first Charlaine Harris novel I’ve read and I’m not sure if I still want to pick up the next book of the series. I might try her other books though.

2 responses to “Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris

  1. I’ve only seen True Blood which isn’t that accurate in its portrayal of the book according to a friend who follows the series. Your review discourages me to try reading the book. haha.

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      haha 😀 I hope it doesn’t sound that I’m discouraging everyone to read this book. Maybe I’m just one of the few who doesn’t like it. A friend of mind actually got the whole series & she still buying the new releases. But I can’t say it’s not my genre since I love paranormal & mystery books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

