BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

on April 17, 2011

“You don’t know what you can do, You won’t know until you try.”

Book Description from Goodreads:

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

 Personal Thoughts:

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book even before it’s release. Most of the reviews I’ve seen online were positive. So when I found out that Unearthly is finally available here in the Philippines via Fully Booked I’m a bit excited to get a copy. I finished reading the book two days ago, which is a quick read. The first few chapters is a bit interesting, because of the new concept of angels. I thought a different background of angels is refreshing. But as the story moves a little longer, it become a little dull. Most of it involves Clara’s everyday life in school and her quest to her angel-blood identity purpose and powers.

Clara inspite having an angel-blood feels more real to me. As for Clara’s mom, Maggie, well I like her. I love the bond between her and her children specially with Clara. She seems a cool mom to have. Even she’s not telling everything to Clara all about angel-blood stuffs, she always do what she think is best for Clara. And as one of the angel-blood, Maggie’s background is intriguing which is something to look forward to the next book. Christian is surprising. I didn’t expect that he is not in love with Clara or maybe not yet. And he is not typical guy who goes over heals for some girl like with most of the YA characters I’ve been reading lately. He is willing to sacrifice his own love, to fulfil his purpose.

The description of the place is well written. It is easy to visualise the surroundings, the beautiful scenery, landscape and even the life in Wyoming. The concept of black wing adds element of darkness in the story. And it would be nice if it is fully develop. The importance of fulfilling Clara’s angelic mission or purpose is interesting and convincing. But the execution is a bit anticlimactic. Her lack of understanding to all angel related things makes it more vague. The conflict of choosing between her mission and her choice is not striking. With her relationship with Christian, it’s too obvious who will she choose. As for the twist about Christian’s identity, it was unexpected but not well executed. The ending is too abrupt. It’s not a cliff-hanger type but definitely unfinished. As if I’m reading a paragraph or a sentence that is cut in the middle.

Overall, Unearthly is a nice attempt to give a new cut for paranormal genre with angelic theme. But even with all unanswered questions, there wasn’t enough urgency to make me want to read more.

7 responses to “Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. I have “issues” with angel books, but I have to say that I really liked this one. I was frustrated with the mother at times, I loved the concept of the black wings, and I loved the love triangle. I am pretty sure Cynthia will go into the black wings a little more with the new book. Sure hope so!

    Good review!

    Jen

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      Thanks Jen. I also like the concept of black wings and I hope to see more of that on the next book. I think that part and Clara’s best friend’s role is a nice thing to explore.

      Like

  2. Been wanting to read this series upon hearing lots of good things about it. Maybe I should start this book soon 🙂

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      I hope you like this one more than I do. The premise is quite different from other angels stories I’ve read before but somehow I’m looking for something more. I really hope you enjoy reading this one.

      Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I think i liked Unearthly more than you did. Loved Clara. Loved reading about angels. Really looking forward to book 2.

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      yeah! I’m actually a bit sad that I don’t like this one that much, as I expected. But I’m still planning to read the next book. Hopefully I’ll enjoy that one more.

      Like

  4. […] Deep by Laura Jarratt is a gift from Precious of Fragments of Life. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand and The Peculiar by  Stefan Bachmann came from  book swap. This Song Will Save […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

