BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

on May 5, 2011

“Just say something real. Everyone just always tries so hard, and it all comes out the same. I just want someone to say something real.”

Book Description from Goodreads:

When Alexis’s little sister Kasey becomes obsessed with an antique doll, Alexis thinks nothing of it. Kasey is a weird kid. Period. Alexis is considered weird, too, by the kids in her high school, by her parents, even by her own Goth friends. Things get weirder, though, when the old house they live in starts changing. Doors open and close by themselves; water boils on the unlit stove; and an unplugged air conditioner turns the house cold enough to see their breath in. Kasey is changing, too. Her blue eyes go green and she speaks in old-fashioned language, then forgets chunks of time.
Most disturbing of all is the dangerous new chip on Kasey’s shoulder. The formerly gentle, doll-loving child is gone, and the new Kasey is angry. Alexis is the only one who can stop her sister — but what if that green-eyed girl isn’t even Kasey anymore?

 Personal Thoughts:

I don’t read much horror books. I prefer watching a horror stories than reading it, because I get more spooked in reading. But when I learned about this book from Rachel of fiktshun, I made sure to put in on my TBR list for whodunit reading challenge.

The beginning was a little slow and I wasn’t sure if I would love the book. But when Alexis begins to suspect the paranormal, that Kasey is becoming weirder and weirder, it becomes much more interesting. Alexis’s hunt for clues as to what is going on with her sister Kasey is quite intriguing. It is a lot deeper than expected and involves more people than just the two sisters. Though it is a bit easy to figure out some of the things that lead to Kasey’s bizarre behaviour, there are plenty of twists that keep a whole load of mystery in the book.

At first I find Alexis seemingly stereotypical, but after delving into her personality and throughout the course of the story, she becomes more real to me. I enjoy her snarky and slightly sarcastic remarks and deep insights and of course her passion to photography.

“To me, taking digital pictures is like finding something. But working with film is like making something.”

– Alexis Warren

Then there is Alexis’ sister, Kasey who is a 13 year old girl struggling to hold onto her childhood. Despite Kasey’s odd behavior, Alexis is still very protective of her. She won’t give up on Kasey no matter how evil the little brat seems to be. It’s nice that even though they weren’t the picture perfect family, there was still such a sense of family values. And Megan, the popular cheerleader, also turned out to be so much more than just a ditzy teenager and the friendship that develops between her and Alexis interesting.

Katie‘s writing were really descriptive, I can just imagine the house and the doll in my head. While reading I kept thinking about the old porcelain doll I used to have when I was a kid. It is a beautiful doll and I know I’m not giving her justice for making her creepy in my imagination. But I just can’t help it, sometimes personal things are easier to incorporate in my imaginations which also makes it more creepier for me.

Bad Girls Don’t Die is a classic ghost story with plenty of twists and turns. It is full of mystery, suspense and a bit of creepiness. But don’t let the horror aspect scare you off from this novel, this book also got unique characters and incredible passages. There is a sequel entitled From Bad to Cursed that will be released later this year.

8 responses to “Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m so glad you liked it. The twists and turns really made this story exciting. I really enjoyed your review and how you had that personal element to relate the doll to.

    I’m really looking forward to the sequel. Good luck with your mystery reading challenge.

    Like

  2. myragarcesbacsal says:

    I like the quote that you used “Just say something real”. Authenticity is so rare nowadays. =)

    Like

  3. Hi there! Thank you so much for the nice review. 🙂 I’m glad the sisters’ relationship resonated with you–that’s the core of the story for me! And thanks to Rachel for recommending BGDD, yay!

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      Katie Alender? wow @__@ you are here. Thanks for visiting my site and for commenting. So nice of you. I love your book. I did enjoy it inspite of all the creepiness I got. Really looking forward for the next book.

      Like

  4. blackplume says:

    how come you don’t like creepy stuff? You’re good writing it. How’s that possible? Don’t you get goosebumps while writing those scenes?

    Like

Leave a Reply

