BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

In My Mailbox: July 31

on July 31, 2011

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

Books I Received:

Two lovely books arrived in my mailbox this week from friends. Dead Rules by Randy Russell came from Rachel of Fiktshun. Isn’t the book lovely? When I first saw the  art cover online I know I want to own a copy of this book.  So when Rachel informed me that she’ll send me a copy I almost dance with joy =)  The cover is really gorgeous and based from Rachel’s review I know the inside is also beautiful as the cover.

The Castle in the Pyrenees by Jostein Gaarder came from Tze-Wen of chinoiseries. I won this book from the literary giveaway hop she held on her site.

A HUGE Thank You to Rachel and Tze-Wen for these lovely books.

Books I Bought:

I finally completed the Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater.  I got my copy of the final book, Forever when it was released last July 12 but I can’t read it without reading the first two books. So I finally bought Shiver and Linger this week.  I just want to start the series soon before I lend my copy of Forever to a friend.

Carrie Jones’ Need series is another set I bought together with Linger and Shiver. I got the first three books (Need, Captivate & Entice) in hardbound format. I’m supposed to get Wildefire that night but I can’t find any copy then I saw these lovely covers on shelf. I just can’t leave the book store without them on hand.

These are the books I bought from local bookstore and book depository on sale. After more than a month of waiting some of the books I ordered online finally arrived.

  • Have A Little Faith by Mitch Albom
  • Heist Society by Ally Carter
  • Flawless by Sara Shepard
  • The Enchanted Quest by Frewin Jones
  • The Boy Who Dared by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
  • The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

With all these lovely books I got this week plus the existing books in my TBR it is  more hard to decide what to pick up first.

6 responses to “In My Mailbox: July 31

  1. Diane says:

    Cool. I think your new books are lovely. Good luck trying to choose which one to read next, looks like you have quite a bunch of them piling up.

    I especially love the covers of the Need series. I’ll try to look for those in the local bookstore.

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      Thanks. Though none of those books will be part of my reading pile this week. I need to finish first those review request I received lately.

      The cover of Need series are really catchy. That’s why I bought them =) but I think the books will be good. The goodreads ratings for the three books were great!

      Like

  2. Yiota says:

    I was pretty sure i had commented at your mailbox:P Probably i was confused with one of the facebook comments 😄

    Shiver is nice and different. I haven’t read any of the other books though, so i hope you review them when you get to them!
    Have fun reading!

    Also thanks for visiting my mailbox too:)
    Splash of our Worlds

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      Maybe its on facebook =) I’ll try to pick up shiver after I’m done with my for review pile. I usually review the first book of the series so expect a review of Shiver here.

      Oh I love your mailbox. You got tons of books and swags out there. My mailbox never been like that, even if it is my birthday =)

      Like

  3. Imogen says:

    I hope you enjoy Maggie Stiefvater’s trilogy, i’m reading Forever right now and it’s pretty good so far. Yiota was right when saying Shiver was a bit different from your average shifter/werewolf story, and i found it a good change.
    I’ve wanted to read Dead Rules for ages, you’re so lucky! Especially having received all those books. I have to make a budget, or i’ll spend way too much too quickly *le sigh*
    Anyways, if you’re bored feel free to come over and say hi, i love meeting people, and have an awesome weekened 😀

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      Oh I sucks with budgeting when it comes to books. I don’t usually received books but when I did I treasured those books I got from friends. And I love it when they put some dedications too =)

      I’m planning to read Dead Rules this weekend. I’ll pick up that one first before starting Mercy Falls series. I don’t have much time reading lately and I still need to finish first those review request I received. But Dead Rules can’t wait any longer than weekend. The cover is pulling me everytime I saw it on shelves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

