Books · REVIEWS

The Eye of the Crystal Ball by T.P. Boje

“Sometimes you just got to have a little trust.”

When Sara was newborn her parents left her at the doorstep at Mr. and Mrs. Schneider’s house.

When Sara was ten she discovered she was telekinetic. She began to move stuff around when she got angry just by her will alone.

When Sara was twelve her real parents came for her and took her with them to live like the Gypsy that she was – or Romani as they like to call themselves. They told her she was going to fulfill a prophesy. That it was once said that out of the Romani people the greatest sorceress who had ever lived would be born.
When Sara was thirteen she had a baby brother and when she was fourteen he got very sick with a strange illness.
To save her baby-brother Sara sets off on a quest to find his cure – well knowing that it will cost her dearly.
Soon Sara finds herself going through the Singing Cave, crossing Wild Witches Valley, talking to a ten foot giant snail, rescuing the Beads of Souls from the Hell-hounds, escaping a spell in Vamila, the Forest of Vanity, visiting the king at the City of Lights before she finally reaches the Black Castle where she is told the Eye of the Crystal Ball can tell her how to cure her brother’s strange illness.

But nothing is free in this world – and as Sara soon will know – everything has a price

Personal Thoughts:

I’ve been getting a lot of review request lately but I’m a bit hesitant accepting them for different reasons. I’m not an all positive reviewer and I’m not sure if authors will be glad to send me books for review if I write anything negative about their books. Even my favorite books doesn’t get an all positve review from me. So when T.P. asked me if I can consider reviewing The Eye of the Crystal Ball I’m a little indecisive about it. After awhile she send me a guest post material and an e-copy of her book, which I am thankful because the book is more than I expected it to be.

I find the main character, Sarah intriguing from the start. Being a gypsy is what makes her unique as I never read a story about gypsies before. Add her unknown abilities and talents that she is discovering along the way you’ll be hooked in her and in her jouney. She is a strong and talented girl who has a heart of gold. She will do anything she can to save her little brother, which leads us to a fascinating adventure. Together with Manolo she will face the unknown to find the cure she needs to save the life of her brother.

Manolo as Sara’s companion in this unending quest and adventure is one of the character that stands out other than Sarah. He can be whatever Sarah needs him to be. Which is really helpful for Sarah. Without him I doubt Sarah can make it alone. He is a perfect companion for this adventure.

Sarah’s quest and adventure is full of magic, enchanting world and creatures that came from a rich imaginative mind of the author. There were witches, warewolf boy, speed talking giant snail, black dragon, pegasus, unicorn and a lot of creatures under some dark spell. This book is like an unending imaginatination of a child – full of hope, fantasy and magic. It is like a fairy tale read that every kid in us enjoy reading.

The only issue I got with this book is the writing style or the editing. It took me awhile to get used to it. I’m not sure if it because of the translation or what? The narrative sometimes are too long. There were too much telling than showing of what is happening, which in a way took a little bit of excitement. There were some distracting lines that keep me off but with proper editing I think this book will be more engaging to read.

The Eye of the Crystal Ball is a charming book that is full of imaginative world and fun characters. Disregard some writing or editing issues this book will satisfy your imagination of a fantasy adventure read.

This review is based on an e-copy I received from the author in exchange of honest review.

3 thoughts on “The Eye of the Crystal Ball by T.P. Boje

    1. I wish that too. There are so many books that I want to read but with limited time I don’t have much chance to pick up all of them much more to review. 12 books for two months for you? I think you can make it, your faster than me =) and you post multiple reviews in one entry.

      Like

Leave a Reply

