Books · REVIEWS

Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

“Everybody has a story…
Everybody has things they need to hide
–sometimes even from themselves.” 

Sixteen-year-old Alison wakes up in a mental institution. As she pieces her memory back together, she realizes she’s confessed to murdering Tori Beaugrand, the most perfect girl at school. But the case is a mystery. Tori’s body has not been found, and Alison can’t explain what happened. One minute she was fighting with Tori. The next moment Tori disintegrated—into nothing.

But that’s impossible. No one is capable of making someone vanish. Right? Alison must be losing her mind—like her mother always feared she would.

For years Alison has tried to keep her weird sensory abilities a secret. No one ever understood—until a mysterious visiting scientist takes an interest in Alison’s case. Suddenly, Alison discovers that the world is wrong about her—and that she’s capable of far more than anyone else would believe.

Personal Thoughts:

“Once upon a time there was a girl who was special.

This is not her story.

Unless you count the part where I killed her.”

The opening lines above surely piqued my interest to start reading this book. And the unique premise is intriguing enough to make me stuck in front of my Kindle for hours. Alison is an interesting character. I am fascinated on how she see or hear things in different colors and  lights. She see the world around her beyond the usual bright and shades. She can taste voices, see music, hear colors and even taste lies. But all her ability is beyond normal which makes her crazy in the eyes of other people. It even landed her in a psychiatric institution. She also believe that she made someone disintegrate but there are explanations beyond all these things.

This is definitely a unique story, I can’t even classify it in one genre.  At first I expected it to be a paranormal but as I start reading it feels more a contemporary reads, then it become psychological thriller, murder mystery and even a science fiction. It is a crazy hell a bit of everything. It gives a story a twist and turns that I never anticipated while reading.

Alison’s condition alone is pretty interesting to explore. I haven’t read anything about it before and this book just make me curious to check more online. I even try to imagine if I’m a bit capable of those things. I think it is cool to experience a bit of what Alison can see and hear. The way she describes things where so rich and eloquent that I find myself trying to imagine those things. Her ability to see things in different spectrum is really amazing and intriguing.

“his hair was the color of a thunderstorm reflected in a mud puddle”

The plot twist in the end is really unexpected. At first I feel a bit off about it but somehow acceptable. If anything else, it makes me question more about Alison’s mental status. It’s like going back all over again after establishing what is really happening to her. The story is told in Alison’s point of view so it is easy to believe her and think that the Doctors at the institution are either mistaken or corrupt. But when the sci-fi aspect shows I started to doubt Alison’s mental capacity. What if she is actually sick but couldn’t recognized it? Afterall, how many of mental patients know themselves to be sane and everybody else is not?

Another great thing in this book is how the story presents the fact on how we treat those who have mental illness. How we classify them as crazy people without really understanding their conditions. We easily labeled them as crazy or stupid as if they want to be like that. As Faraday says in this book, everyone has a story, and  this book shows different angles of it from the point of view of someone who can see the world in a different angle.

Ultraviolet is unpredictable with an interesting and compelling story line. A different twist of cross-dimension read that will make you wonder about reality and illusions. This book simply proves how creative and innovative R.J. Anderson is, because she created an intense and intelligent novel that will make you question what really happens?

This review is based on an e-ARC I received courtesy of the publisher, Lerner Publishing Group via NetGalley.

18 thoughts on “Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

    1. The Sci-fi aspect was actually in the end. something really unexpected and definitely surprising twist. I’m interested to know how will that twist goes for you when you read this one.

      Like

    1. The opening line is what really get me into reading this book. And once I start reading I can’t stop till the end. Anderson’s style of writing is vivid and flowing. There is something unique in Alison’s voice that will pull you into her own world.

      Like

    1. This is really quite different, at least in my usual read lately. I hope you can get a copy too. I got mine from publisher via netgalley but not sure if it is still available from them. This is not yet available here in the Philippines locally, but hopefully I can get a physical copy when it released here. If not I will just order one from book depository. This book is definitely worth reading.

      Like

  1. Ultraviolet has an amazing story. It’s unique and different story. The opening lines are great. It’s on my wishlist now!

    Like

    1. Definitely unique and different. The twist and turn give ways to different genre in a subtle way. And yeah, I said it before but the opening lines is really catchy, would surely get anyone’s attention. I hope you get a chance to read this and have fun reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

