Books · REVIEWS

Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

“I no longer wanted to feel displaced.” 

Their love was meant to be.

When Megan Rosenberg moves to Ireland, everything in her life seems to fall into place. After growing up in America, she’s surprised to find herself feeling at home in her new school. She connects with a group of friends, and she is instantly drawn to darkly handsome Adam DeRÍs.

But Megan is about to discover that her feelings for Adam are tied to a fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that brought them together could be their ultimate destruction.

Personal Thoughts:

I got excited when I read from the first page that the story is set in Ireland. One of the place that I am always fascinated. Ireland for me is like a magical place with its own beauty and mystery. So from the first few pages I anticipated how the author will take advantage of her settings. Though I am happy to find Kinsale, Dublin and Charles Fort in the story I still want more descriptions of the place. I want Megan to describe few more details of her surroundings and not other unimportant things like her shoes or her hair. But Megan seems not as fascinated as I am with Ireland, instead she is more into Adam DeRis, which I certainly understand. Thankfully Leigh Fallon didn’t forgot to add Irish accent dialogues which provide more authenticity to the story.

Since the setting is set in Ireland I did expect the touch of Irish lore in the story. Celtic folklore or Irish Druid mythology is interesting, add the legends of the carriers, the orders, secret societies and elemental powers I am sold. I love how different it is from most paranormal reads out there. It is not purely original but it is still refreshing compare to the usual story from paranormal genre.

Here are some photos of Ireland:

Kinsale

Charles Fort

Trinity College in Dublin

As for the characters, I didn’t connect much with Megan. She is likeable for the most part but I don’t paricularly feel cheering for her. Her fondness for her new found super power is quite unbelievable, she seems pretty cool about it. Adam is swoon worthy reading from Megan perspective but for some reasons I don’t fall for him.

Rian is an intruiging character. At one point I’m afraid that he will be a third wheel to Adam and Megan relationship but I’m glad that the author didn’t go that path. While Rhian has a lot of potential to be the third party, it is too predictable to give him that role. I like that Leigh Fallon gives mystery to Rhian’s character by not showing his ability right away. It’s pretty obvious what Adam and Aine can do but since Rian isn’t always present, you will be intrigue in him as much as his role to the story.

I’m not a fan of instant attraction relationship especially if not delivered well. Megan and Adam relationship happens too fast, I think it lacks a bit of proper development. They barely spoken then all of the sudden they are declaring their love for each other. And I don’t buy the unexplainable connection they have because of the mark or their connection to each other. Because if that is the case, how come Rian is not madly in love with Megan? Also Megan and Adam forbidden relationship is supposed to be a big threat to the world but unfortunately I didn’t feel much the weight of consequenses from their perspective. Both Megan and Adam doesn’t act so much disturbed as I expected them to be. They were more concern with how they will be together than the effect of their relationship to the whole world.

With all these elemental powers I did expect a lot of actions from this book but what I got instead is more of background story and a little kidnapping scene in the end. I forgot that this is a trilogy so maybe I expected too much, because obviously the actions that I’m eager to see will have to wait until the next books.

As a debut novel Carrier of the Mark has a lot of promise. With secret societies, ancient mystery powers and legends this is pretty refreshing paranormal reads. A fast-paced story that is absorbing and entertaining.

2 thoughts on “Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

Leave a Reply

