Books · REVIEWS

Silence (Hush, Hush #3) by Becca Fitzpatrick

“There’s only one thing I know for certain anymore. That I would do anything for you, even if it means going against my instincts or my very nature. I would lay down everything I possess, even my soul, for you. If that isn’t love, it’s the best I have.”

The noise between Patch and Nora is gone. They’ve overcome the secrets riddled in Patch’s dark past…bridged two irreconcilable worlds…faced heart-wrenching tests of betrayal, loyalty and trust…and all for a love that will transcend the boundary between heaven and earth. Armed with nothing but their absolute faith in one another, Patch and Nora enter a desperate fight to stop a villain who holds the power to shatter everything they’ve worked for—and their love—forever.

Personal Thoughts:

Silence is the third book of Hush Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick. The story takes up few months after the ending of last book, Crescendo. After being abducted by Hank Millar, Nora is left with no memory of the past. She can’t remember anything that happened to her not just the months she was missing but also two months that came before which is the every moment that she and Patch shares. Knowing that there are missing gaps in her memory Nora do everything she can to know what happened to her, who kidnapped her and why?

“How did you get in?”
“I move in mysterious ways.”
“God moves in mysterious ways.
You move like lightening-here one moment, gone the next.”

Nora is still impulsive as she is from the previous books. She still do a lot of things without so much thinking about the consequences of her actions. But inspite of all that it surprise me that she doesn’t annoy me much as I expected. Somehow I see growth in her character. There’s a real motivations in most of her actions than just merely impulsiveness.

Patch finally established what he felt for Nora which makes him more protective. Though I still miss his snarky and brooding attitude from the previous books, it is nice to see him finally settled than confuse. I love the dagerous Patch compare to the over protective Patch but I am glad he finally takes his stand over Nora.

As for the other characters, the most realistic is Scott. Though I don’t like him much from the previous book, but it is nice to see him back in Silence. There were times that I doubt his motives in getting back to Nora’s life. As a Nephilim he might be just one of Hank Millar’s man or maybe he will use Nora as way to get back to Hank Millar. But towards the end I understand and trust him more. He is really helpful to Nora during the times that she don’t remember much from her past.

I got frustrated to Nora’s Mom. I don’t understand most of the things she did. As a mother I don’t feel her care and love for Nora. Then there’s Vee, in Crescendo I thought she’s improving but in here she’s shrinking to me. Vee’s hatred for all men is too unrealistic. Sorry but I didn’t buy it. It doesn’t ring true to me that she can hate everymen given all the circumstances shed been through. And her hatred for Patch needs more backup from her. If she could just give more reasons than what happen to Nora maybe I’ll buy it.

There are lot’s of actions and twist but aside from Patch and Nora’s love story I can’t find anything more interesting. Hank Millar as the villain and his motives doesn’t make the plot more engrossing. If there was just more deeper conflict than Hank’s plan for Nephilim and fallen angels I might enjoy this one more.

Personally, I think the whole plot of Silence doesn’t contribute much to the whole series. It seems that this book purely serves as a bridge from the previous book to the next book. With Nora forgetting the past, it is like going back again to square one – meeting Patch and digging his secrets and real identity, as well as knowing Nora’s own idenity, her family and the connection she & Patch share. Though they are not exactly the repetitions of the previous books they still make the story a little stagnant. Yes, it is entertaining as I enjoy everything while reading but getting to the end I guess I’m not satisfied. I want the story to move faster than I’m getting. I want to get more actions and new twist than retelling.

The ending gives a lot of promise for the next book. With Nora’s vow to Hank Miller and Patch promise to fallen angels the series seems getting the climax it needed. The stakes is getting higher for the next book which makes it all exciting. For Nora Grey, I have few words for you – “Choose your enemy wisely.”

Overall, Silence is pretty entertaining for the most part. There were couple of issues but it is not a big deal. Every fan of the series will surely enjoy this new addition to Hush Hush series.

7 thoughts on “Silence (Hush, Hush #3) by Becca Fitzpatrick

    1. There’s a little growth in Nora. As for Vee, she’s really getting in my nerve in this book. I expect more growth from her since Crescendo but unfortunately she becomes more annoying in here.

      I’d like to know how this one goes for you.

      Like

    1. yeah, Silence is not the finale book. There will be a fourth book soon to be released next year. The series is supposed to be a trilogy but before the release of Silence they announced the changes.

      Like

  1. I read the books in three days and fell in love until I got to the very end. I can’t stand reaching a dead end and having to wait until the next book. I think the biggest loophole Nora may find is that Hank never specified how to lead the army of Nephilim. She just needs to find a way to convince them that war is not the only way to solve their problems, but the book can go any direction. I think the most suspensful part is to see what will happen with Patch. . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

