BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Best of 2011 Reads

on January 1, 2012

2011 has been an amazing journey for me, part of the reasons is because I discovered so many great books last year. Books that made me laugh, smile, ache. cry, think or simply enjoy the moment. With a total of 113 fictions books I  read for 2011 it is quite hard to pick only ten as my best reads so what I did is combine some books that are part of a series into one mention. Here are my top picks for 2011 reads.

  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins – when I first thought of writing this post this series is the first thing that cross my mind. This series is definitely my best reads for 2011. The series was actually out last 2008 and completed by 2010 though I only got the chance to read it last year.  What I love with these books is the simplicity and depth of the story. I love how the author manage to shows the complex version of human issues in the most simplest, realistic and thought provoking way.
  • If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman – If I Stay is one of the books that really pinch my heart and makes me cry. A book that is definitely not a light read but when I finished reading it and got the chance to exhale I find myself re-reading it again. And I still see myself re-reading it again and again in the future. Where She Went the companion is also as lovely as If I Stay. I haven’t actually review this one as I am too emotional when I finished it and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do justice writing how wonderful the book is. One of the things I love with Where She Went is the lyrics written before some chapters. I fell in love with those words everytime I read it. I also like that the author use Adam voice to narrate the story as it complements the first book where Mia is the narrator. If I felt for Mia in If I Stay, I ached for Adam in Where  She Went. I also love that the story happens in just one day. I can list a lot of things why I love these two books but I think the best way to sum up the reasons is no books made me feel as much as I did after reading these two lovely books.

  • Saving June by Hannah Harrington – I had a thing with travel books, music and grief books so when Hannah Harrington combined the three in Saving June, this book easily become one of my favourite reads of 2011. As a debut novel this is an amazing work.
  • The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – this is one of my favorite reads that I had a hard time reviewing. I really want to review it so I can properly recommend the book to everyone but the first time I try all I can write is I love it! All the reasons why this book is so awesome just cluttered together in my head. Sometimes when the book is too lovely I really don’t know what to say other than read it!


  • The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare – this is another series that I devoured reading last year. I read the first three books last January 2011 and the fourth book when it was released.  Reason why I like this series are top-notch character development, fantastic world building and funny sarcastic dialogues.

  • If I Die by Rachel Vincent – Soul Screamers series is one of the series I just discovered last year and with five books and two novellas  already out in 2011 this series become my constant reads. Since I haven’t read anything about Banshee this is a refreshing reads for me.  And with every books of the series that keeps getting better and better I can’t help but be hooked. The last installment If I Die is the most engaging for me. It offers a lot of twist and turns that transformed the whole series into a more exciting read.

  • Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley – there something about stories that spans over one night that I really like, add the graffiti arts, poems and the adventure of finding someone who is already in front of you this is definitely a fun read for me. An insightful and colourful novel artfully written for enjoyment.

  • The Restorer by Amanda Stevenwhen I joined the whodunit reading challenge last year I got the chance to read a lot of thriller and mystery novels and one of my great finds is The Restorer. I love how the murder mystery in this one unfold. It’s like a guessing game for me. The information about gravestones, cemeteries and graveyard restoration provides an interesting fact. This book is definitely a hunting thriller and puzzling  mystery.

  • Divergent by Veronica Roth – aside from The Hunger Games trilogy, Divergent is another dystopian book that I enjoy reading last year. Mainly because of the fascinating world that Veronica Roth crafted in the story.

  • Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – surprisingly these two novels of Stephanie Perkins makes my best reads. If you know my reading preferences these two is not usually in my reading list but I am glad that somehow I cross with these two charming and cute novels. I haven’t review both novels but what I like in these books are the quirky and unique characters, the settings (who can resist Paris?) and the fun and light romance.

There are so many books that I want to add but I doubt I’ll be able to finish this post if I try to add more. The list will just go on and on. So what do you think of my picks? What are your best reads of 2011? Did any of my picks make it to your list?

2 responses to “Best of 2011 Reads

  1. Yiota says:

    I have read only Clare’s series and Hunger Games XD So many books i missed!

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      THG is my most recommended series last year. I keep on pushing my friends to read it, in fact my copies of the series are still on lend. Though I plan to get the collectors edition so I don’t mind my paperback copies get bitten!
      I hope you get the chance to reads some of the above books too especially those two lovely novels of Gayle Forman. I think you’ll love it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

