BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Never To Sleep by Rachel Vincent

on January 2, 2012

Don’t Close Your Eyes.

Sophie Cavanaugh is not going to let her freak of a cousin’s strange psychiatric condition ruin high school for them both. Not after all the work she’s put into cultivating the right look, and friends, and reputation. But then, Sophie sees something so frightening she lets out a blood-curdling scream—and finds herself stuck in a bizarre parallel world where nothing is safe and deadly creatures lurk just out of sight, waiting for her to close her eyes and sleep…forever.

Could this world be real? Or does insanity run in the family…?

Personal Thoughts:

After hearing Kaylee and Tod from the other two novellas of Soul Screamers series Rachel Vincent now offer the voice of Sophie in Never To Sleep. From this novella readers will get the chance to know more of Sophie as a character as she goes with her first deadly adventure to the Netherworld with the handsome new guy, Luca.

I have to admit before reading this novella I don’t really care much about Sophie. She doesn’t really grow in me as a character from all the previous books of Soul Screamers series. I don’t hate her but I don’t love her either. I thought she is just one of those secondary characters needed by the plot but never really developed until now.

Sophie from the previous book is sarcastic, annoying and spoiled. We never really get the chance to know her because the narrator, Kaylee doesn’t really got the chance either. With so many unsettled issues between Kaylee and Sophie we only got the glimpse of Sophie’s character.

In this novella we got the chance to know Sophie a little more. Reading from her point of view gives more of her character. Though I really believe that she is a tough person being the sarcastic and bitch she is from the previous books I never imagined her as the sweet and funny type. So I am surprised and delighted to see that side of her from here. But don’t get me wrong I’m still not a fan of her though this novella really help me to understand her more. Maybe a little more development and turn I may like her eventually, after all I enjoy hearing her thoughts and lines in here.

And I am still looking forward seeing the changes of her character after her experience to Netherworld. I want to see how her relationship with her cousin Kaylee will develop after this and how well will she handle the rest of the Netherworld information that she needs to know, especially the past events that were directly related to her.

The plot is really simple and quick since it is just a novella but inspite of that this book is loaded with so many hilarious and sweet moments. The moment Luca enter to the stories every words Sophie said is a treat. I smile and laugh so many times reading this novella. Speaking of Luca, this guy is an interesting addition to the Soul Screamers world. I’m curious what impact he will bring to the series and what twist he will add to the more exciting world of Soul Screamers. I can’t wait to see more of him in the next book of the series.

Just like the two novellas of the series Never To Sleep is fully loaded with its own plot to tell. A nice glimpse to know the other side of another character and the Soul Screamers world. This quick, fun and action-packed novella is a perfect read while waiting for the next book, Before I Wake.

2 responses to “Never To Sleep by Rachel Vincent

  1. Rita J Webb says:

    My husband has been reading some Rachel Vincent, and he and I swap book ideas all the time. Yet I haven’t taken the plunge into any of Vincent’s books. After reading this, I think it is about time I did.

    Like

  2. […] Never To Sleep by Rachel Vincent « BLACKPLUMERachel Vincent – Description: Rachel Vincent is an American author best known for her Shifters series, a present-day urban fantasy series about a female … […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

