Books · REVIEWS

I Wrote This For You by pleasefindthis

“You took  all the words when all I  wanted to do was say them.”

I need you to understand something. I wrote this for you. I wrote this for you and only you. Everyone else who reads it, doesn’t get it. They may think they get it, but they don’t. This is the sign you’ve been looking for. You were meant to read these words.

Personal Thoughts:

Once in a while you found a book that somehow felt that it is written personally for you. As if the author writes the book with you in his mind, and the dedication has your name written on it. I Wrote This For You is one of those rare books if ever there is already one out there existing. It is also a kind of book that felt like you wrote by yourself for someone you love and care. As if the author write down all the feelings and thoughts you cannot express and manage to put them on the pages of this lovely book.

The book is divided into four parts: Sun, Moon, Stars, and Rain. It includes collections of photos, messages or poems that express real feelings and emotions. Each collections are artistically combined that somehow will touch your soul. The photos alone are carefully pick to show the different angle of life. Each descriptions and messages are heartwarming and inspiring. The photos captures life and the messages express the stories behind it. Stories we can all relate to and messages we all shares. Here are few quotes from the book:

“You keep telling me to be glad for what we had while we had it. That the brightest flame burns quickest. Which means you saw us as a candle. And I saw us as the sun.”

“…And in the end, I will break the stars and resurrect the sun.”

“Fine. Maybe I’m the puzzle. But you’re still the pieces.”

“I’m not scared of never meeting you. I’m scared of having met you, and let you go.”

“You thought me how to be alone. And I learned my lesson, in your absence.”

“Being gifted doesn’t mean you’ve been given something. It means, you have something to give.”

Reading those words somehow felt that the author took the words out of my soul and put it on paper. As if he really knew me so well, like a bestfriend I always wanted to have and he easily put into words all I wanted to say. There are so many quotations from the book that I can relate to, words that triggered memories from the past and give a glimpse of a bright future. It is like peeking into my diary and reading all the words I am silently keeping or letters I never send. It tells my story and everyone’s stories too.

There is one particular part of the book that makes me teary because the photo and the message really hit me. It reminds me of one of the places I visit in Taipei though it’s not exactly the same place it reminds me of my stay there. Of all the places I visited so far, Taiwan is the most memorable not only because that’s my first out of the country trip but also because of the experiences it gives me. In my eight days of stay there I experience the ups and down of life. I went through different emotions while I’m there. The experiences and adventures gives me not just memories but also molds me to be a better person. Reminding me those moments somehow resurrect me again to my soul. It reminds me of the people I love and care, people I lost and things that really matters in life.

I Wrote This For You is such a short read but the words it delivers expand beyond the pages. The messages are bleak, hopeful, real, and poignant. Add the mysterious and daunting photos, this book is written for you and only you by someone who dares to show how much you matter in this world and reminds you that there is someone who cares and life has meaning.

This review is based on an e-Book copy I received courtesy of the publisher, IreadIwrite.

14 thoughts on “I Wrote This For You by pleasefindthis

    1. yay! hope you’ll be able to get a copy! This is one book that every library should have. I already order a copy from book depository because I’m not contented with the eBook. I want to own a printed copy too!

      Like

  1. OMG
    I’ve never heard of this book
    never heard of the author
    but I’m completely and utterly SOLD
    I WANT this book so BAD is not even funny!
    punch line???
    I’m dying just reading your review!
    It’s amazing how this book got to you! Reminded me of The Dark Song by Gail Giles, a book with which I felt exactly like you did with this one!
    I need to add this to me tbr-list!
    thanks for the quotes and amazing review!

    Like

    1. Oh Alba!!! you should read this one. I’m sure you’ll gonna love it. For someone who loves taking photos and reading, this book perfectly fit for you. And don’t forget to ready the tissue before you start reading 🙂

      I haven’t read Gail Giles’ The Dark Song, I’ll check it later if I can find a copy from local book stores.

      Like

  2. Great review!!! I’ll definitely buy a copy of this book. Is this available here in Manila or I’ll should just get one from book depository too?

    Like

Leave a Reply

