Books · REVIEWS

My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent

“I couldn’t see who swam in the darkness, who wore shadows like a second skin.” 

It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it’s the worst day of her life.

Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.

She tries to convince everyone she’s fine–despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she’s crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities….

“An eBook exclusive prequel to Rachel Vincent’s SOUL SCREAMERS series.”

Personal Thoughts:

I’ve read this novella last year in a marathon mode together with the first three books of the Soul Screamer series and the other novella, Reaper. At that time I am so engrossed with my reading that I didn’t get the chance to review all the books of Soul Screamer series. So when Rachel of Fiktshun created the Soul Screamers Reading Challenge I sign-up for the opportunity to review all the books and novellas of this lovely series.

When I first read My Soul To Lose it is still in Kindle format but now in my reread I have a copy of omnibus to devoured to. Since I’m carrying the thick copy of the omnibus, I almost forgot that My Soul To Lose is just a short story. So when I reached the division where the first book, My Soul To Take will start I have to forced myself not to continue reading before I end up skipping writing a review again.

Rereading My Soul To Lose and writing a review after the reread is an interesting experience. If I wrote my review when I first read this novella,  maybe all  I can discuss is how intriguing Kaylee is and a lot of question about her situation. Like why she can see shadows that no one else can see? What’s with those shadows? What is it with her screaming or panic attack? Is she really sane or she just claiming to be one?

But since this is a reread, there are few things that changed in the way I view this novella. Those questions above are gone since I already read the other book of the series. Actually, the first book alone, My Soul To Take answered all those questions above. When I encounter Kaylee’s Aunt Val in this reread I instantly didn’t like her, mainly because of the things she did in the other book which is still fresh in my memory. So even she doesn’t really do anything bad in here I still can’t force myself to like her.

Lydia, one of the patient in Lakeside mental institution where Kaylee was admitted is more noticeable now. I didn’t focus much on her before when I first read this book. But in this reread, I  devour reading her part trying to find for some hints that possibly show about her next role to play in the other book of the series.

Other than that I think everything falls just the same. Kaylee’s Uncle Brandon is still as caring as always. He loves Kaylee and treat her like his own daughter. Kaylee is still as intriguing as she is though the intensity is lessen since I already know her capability and secrets. If anything else, this novella makes me rediscover her witty side again. In the other books of the soul screamers, Kaylee is too busy discovering her ability and fixing other people’s problem that I rarely see her lighter side.

Leave a Reply

