Books · REVIEWS

Beastly: Lindy’s Diary by Alex Flinn

“Sometimes, you wonder when your handsome prince is going to show up and rescue you.”

Diary,

I am locked away . . . with no one to confide in but you . . . and him. His fur, those claws—they caught me off guard at first, but now I’m noticing something else about him—something deeper. It’s the look in his eye. It tells me he’s got a secret to keep. That’s okay—I’ve got one, too. I think I’m falling in love with him. . . .

Lindy

Personal Thoughts:

It’s been awhile since I read Alex Flinn‘s Beastly which I really enjoy so when I found out about Lindy’s Diary I want to read it to refresh my memory of Beastly and to see how Alex Flinn will narrate the story once again using the other character’s point of view. Too bad my copy of Beastly doesn’t include this extra story but after contemplating last night of either buying a printed copy of Deluxe edition of Beastly or just getting the Kindle version of this novella, I give in to the Kindle format since I want something short to read at that time.

“There are no heroes in the world, only good-looking villains.”

For those who haven’t read Beastly, the story is actually a retelling of the classic fairy tale, Beauty and the Beast. Lindy’s Diary is just that, a diary written by Lindy’s that holds her point of view of most major events that happens during Beastly. Since this is just a novella there are scenes from Beastly that were not included here but still it pretty covered all important part of Beastly. From Kyle’s pre-transformation where they are still in school in Tuttle, up to when the spell is broken.

If I remember it right from Beastly, Adrian’s point of view shows how much a monster he is after the transformation. As if he only see himself as a Beast whom people should be afraid of. In this novella, we see Adrian from Lindy’s point of view not as a Beast but someone who is just lonely and needs a companion. Adrian in here is caring and loving. He is willing to do anything for Lindy even letting her go if she wants to. He make sure that Lindy is happy staying with him even though he actually trick Lindy’s father to let Lindy stay with him. In his own reason he believe that he’s doing what is best for Lindy.

Lindy as a narrator is direct and a bit bland but I think this is because the entire story is written in a diary format. And since I already read Beastly before this novella, I don’t mind the flow of her narration. She still manage to tell the different angle of the story and add a little more that Adrian/Kyle haven’t told in Beastly. She simply show the beauty of the beast that Adrian never consider himself in Beastly. There were little revelations too that surprise me to find out in here. Like when Lindy really first saw Adrian’s beastly appearance, which apparently not in the living room where Adrian is watching television, that simply explains Lindy’s reactions at that time in the living room. There are also Kendra’s appearances in Lindy’s dreams which we never know in Beastly.

This novella also shows a more detail version of Lindy’s life with her father. How her everyday life evolve before she transfers to Adrian’s place. Her struggle to get something to eat and pay for rent while maintaining her scholarship at school is not an easy life to live. But when she experience the easy and more comfortable life with Adrian she still can’t leave her father unattended. She want to make sure that he is in good condition. For her living with Adrian forever is just a fantasy because in reality there is a father that she needs to take care of.

After reading this novella, I want to reread Beastly and watch the movie adaptation once again. To experience the joy of reading fairy tales just like when I was a kid. This also makes me more excited to see the Disney version of Beauty and the Beast in 3D. A fairy tale I always love no matter format it is.

I’m not sure if this novella would be effective to those who haven’t read Beastly. Though this covers the major events that happens in Beastly, the diary format of the novella may not deliver some of the emotional scenes that Beastly successfully put on the table. So I suggest reading Beastly first before diving to this novella. And hopefully you’ll discover the beauty of Alex Flinn‘s retelling of a tale as old as time.

Leave a Reply

