BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

My Soul To Save (Soul Screamers #2) by Rachel Vincent

on March 13, 2012

“There’s pressure, but that’s true no matter who you are or what you do.”

When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.

So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn’t wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can’t cry for someone who has no soul.

The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand.

Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk.

Personal Thoughts:

First, let me point out that this is not a review but more on an attempt to discuss my rereading experience for Rachel Vincent’s book as a part of Soul Screamers Reading Challenge hosted by Rachel of Fiktshun.

My Soul To Save is the second installment to an addicting Soul Screamers series of Rachel Vincent. For those who don’t know anything about the said series, this is about a different paranormal species – bean sidhe. In this installment, Kaylee a bean sidhe is up saving another soul. And not just anyone’s soul but a famous pop star and ex-girlfriend of her boyfriend’s brother, Tod.

To be honest, this is my least favorite installment of the soul screamers series. The whole idea of saving Addison is not really enticing for me. Though I understand Tod reasons for wanting to help Addison Page, I am not sold about Kaylee’s eagerness on the matter. Her selflessness sometimes is too much for me to comprehend. I know she can’t just stay put knowing she can help but to the point of risking not just her own life and soul but also the one she mostly care like Nash is too much for me.

After the ending of book one, My Soul To Take, I was hoping that My Soul To Save will deal more with Kaylee’s heritage and power. I’m expecting for more bean sidhe related facts other than a soul saving mission. It just feels that this installment isn’t about Kaylee or Tod or Nash but more on a secondary character, Addison Page. The idea of selling souls for fame, fortune and beauty is a bit cliché too but no big deal.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t despite this book. Despite of my ramblings there are still part of the story that I enjoy, like the Netherworld and Tod. I like that this installment offers a closer look to the demon world. When Tod, Kaylee and Nash went to the Netherworld it give the story more thrill. The idea of Netherworld as a mirror of the real world is nice. The world layering concept that Rachel Vincent discuss is also believable. Tod is more visible here compare to the first book. He is certainly part of the story unlike before. In here, Tod is more than just the undead reaper who loves to annoy his brother Nash. His concern to Addison and her soul is undoubtedly visible.

As for the ending, I like that it didn’t go the usual expected route. The story is about saving Addison’s soul but the way it was wrap up is much perfect than I expected. Initially I didn’t like Addison, because no matter what her reason is for selling her own soul to a demon I still don’t agree with her. Even she wasn’t fully aware of what she’s getting into. Because the fact that she knows that she is selling her soul is already unjustifiable. Obviously any transaction to a demon won’t do her nor anyone good. But in the end, she was redeemed by her sacrifices. Though I feel sorry for her I still believe that it is the right closing for her and for the story.

Though not as strong as the other book of the series, My Soul To Save is still an enjoyable read. My re-reading experience make me appreciate this book a bit better than my first read.

7 responses to “My Soul To Save (Soul Screamers #2) by Rachel Vincent

  1. sistaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    I love you for this!
    I thought I was going crazy while reading it….I even had to drag myself for the last chapters………….

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      this is my second time to read the book and I can’t imagine how can you read this over and over and undergo the same beautiful torture 🙂 crazy is understatement in your case!

      Like

  2. bellacolella says:

    Reblogged this on Paranormal Book Club and commented:
    Check out this one, this series is amazing!!;)))

    Like

  3. smiling_ina says:

    I didn’t like Addison much either, but I do respect her for her sacrifice a whole lot. That being said, I loved Nash’s rant against her just before they meet Avari. 😀

    I actually think it is an important book in this series. We get to see a different side of Tod – he is still able to care and show passion toward another person.
    We get a first glimpse at Avari and how he is right off the bat fascinated by Kaylee – which eventually will turn into somewhat of an obsession.
    Of course, everything that happens to/with Nash in the future, finds its roots here.

    So, yes, even though the storyline itself might be more of a filler, I do believe this is an important book when it comes to the series as a whole. Well, but those are just my thoughts anyway. 😉

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      I agree with you that this is an important book of the series. Afterall, we won’t have book 3 and the rest if this one doesn’t exist. I just wish there’s more in it than just saving Addison’s life. But i still enjoy it as a whole because Rachel Vincent’s writing is never dragging.

      Like

Leave a Reply

