BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

on April 6, 2012

“Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?”

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. She’s stuck at JFK, late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s in seat 18C. Hadley’s in 18A.

Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

Personal Thoughts:

Love at first sight – is that thing really exist? I don’t know how many people out there believe in it but I am sure that I am not one of them. Call me a pessimist, unromantic or anything you like but I won’t believe it until it happen to me. So why I took the chance reading this book if I know that I won’t buy the story as real? First, the blogosphere is raving so much about this book, most of my book lovers’ friends keep pushing me to read this one since early January. Second, the title doesn’t only say Love at First Sight there is also Statistical Probability which my mind first interpret as mathematics and as everyone know I love math. If I am not aware with this book, I might expect it to have graphs and mathematical equations like An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. And lastly, the story is set over a one day period which I usually enjoy reading.

“Love is the strangest, most illogical thing in the world.”

When I am reading the prologue I am complete sold by the way it was written.  Third person present tense is not something usual in my reading experience so it is a bit of fresh air. The prologue reminds me of a scene from a tagalog-movie (sorry I can’t remember the title) wherein the main character, John Loyd Cruz is doing a sales talk about how one moment can change everything. And he is also talking about love which makes the scene and this book get the same vibe. Anyway, getting back to the book, the story surprisingly not just about what the title suggest, because more than the romance between Hadley and Oliver, this book is also about Hadley’s relationship with her father.

On her way to attend her father’s wedding in London, Hadley missed her flight by four minutes. She settled on getting the next flight and while waiting on her trip she met Oliver, a British young man who is also on his way to London via the same flight. During the seven hour flight they talk about almost anything, from book, family, school to marriage beliefs. By the time they land and have to go separate ways Hadley can’t help but hope they’ll see each other again.

“It’s not the changes that will break your heart; it’s that tug of familiarity.”

As I said, this book is not just about love, in fact the Love at First Sight scene wasn’t the major event of the story. There were more serious issues like divorce, death, and forgiveness. Hadley and her father are going through a lot and that is the most interesting part of the book for me. How Hadley get into terms with her father. Her father who leaves her and her mom when he falls in love to a British woman during his stay in London for work. Oliver’s issue with his father is also interesting topic but unfortunately the story doesn’t dwell much on it. I would love to see that part developed, giving Oliver’s a proper closure to his father’s death and their family issues. There’s a lot of potential to it that I think if developed well will add more arc to the story.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is a quick and fun read. Though it is fairly predictable it is still sweet and enjoyable. It doesn’t give any formula or calculations about the probability of love at first sight nor explains true love, but it will make you believe that love happens in the most unexpected way possible.

11 responses to “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Rita J Webb says:

    I don’t think I believe in love at first sight either. I married my best friend after knowing him for 6 years, and after 11 years of marriage, we’re more in love now than when we first kissed. I believe love develops over time as two people dedicate to getting close and closer.

    At the same time, I soooooo want to read this book! I’ve heard lots of good things about it, and your review only made me want to read it more. I’ve tried getting it from my library, but they don’t have it.

    *grumble, grumble*

    So I’m waiting to have the extra money so I can buy it.

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      your best friend is also your husband! you are so lucky!!! I always thought that you can never go wrong with your best friend 🙂 That is much better than love at first sight. I’m happy for you.

      I hope you can get a copy of the book soon either from your local library or somewhere else. And hopefully you get to enjoy it as much as I do 🙂

      Like

  2. bellacolella says:

    Reblogged this on Paranormal Book Club and commented:
    LOOKS good!!

    Like

  3. bookpics4alba says:

    argh!!! I NEED this book!!! *___________*

    Like

  4. Britta says:

    I LOVED this book! I agree, the title was a bit misleading. It definitely got me to pick up the book (which I guess is its job) but there were much more serious issues dealt with in the novel, and much more prominent themes. I thought the father- daughter relationship was more essential to the plot than the love story. But I definitely enjoyed the love story aspect. It is probably good there was no mathematical equation… because I SUCK at math.

    Like

Leave a Reply

