BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Author Interview: Jessica Therrien

on May 7, 2012

I was recently introduced to Jessica Therrien when I joined a local book tour for Oppression (book one of Children of the Gods series) organized by Precious of Fragments of Life. Today Jessica is here on the blog to answer some questions about Oppression,  a lovely book with a unique twist of Greek mythology.


The Interview:

Q. Can you tell us a little about yourself?

I was born and raised in California. I grew up on a ranch in the Sierra Nevada Mountains in a town called Chilcoot (yes, the town in my book). Only about 150 people live there, and I was one of them until I was 17. When I went to college I discovered many many amazing things, including the Chinese Language. I was fascinated with it and moved to Taiwan for a year to study. I now live with my husband in Southern California where I write books in my pajamas 🙂 I love T.V., sewing, art and crafts, and my fluffy white kitty.

Q. If you had to describe Oppression in three words, what would they be?

Heart-wrentching love story.

Q. If you can be one of the Children of the Gods, which God or Goddess would you be descended from and why?

I would love to be a descendant of a messenger like Rachel or Paul. It would be very fun to be able to fly.

Q. Can you see yourself in any of your characters from Oppression?

I see myself in both William and Elyse. They are very close to me, and I definitely put pieces of my soul into those characters.

Q. If you could chat with any character from your book who would it be and what would a day be like?

I’m sure Elyse and I would have fun hanging around my house in our PJs watching good movies.

Q. If William asked you the same question he asked Elyse in your book, summing up your life in a single flavor, what would it be? What do you think your life would taste like?

My answer to this is always a weird one. You have to know me to understand…it would taste like lemons with salt. I LOVE lemons with salt. I would eat them every day if I could.

Q. Kara is an interesting character, how did you weaved her storyline? Is her character developed as you write or you already have her storyline from the start?

Kara was never a planned character. She sort of just snuck her way in as I was writing. I love her though. She is definitely one of my favorites 🙂

Q. What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing Oppression?

In writing Oppression, I really learned a lot about how I write. It was my first book, so I didn’t really know how it would go. I was very surprised to learn that outlining didn’t really help…my creative brain just sort of did what it wanted to do, and I let it.

Q. What’s up next in the Children of the Gods series? When can we expect the next book?

The next book is done. I’m currently trying to get my publisher to let me announce the release date. Right now, all I can say is 2013.

Q. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU!! All of the support and love has been so inspiring 🙂

To find out more about Jessica you may visit her web-page, follow her on TwitterGoodreads and check her fansite on Facebook.

The Book:

Oppression (Children Of The Gods) 

Synopsis:

Elyse knows what it means to keep a secret. She’s been keeping secrets her whole life. Two, actually. First, that she ages five times slower than the average person, so that while she looks eighteen years old, she’s closer to eighty. Second, that her blood has a mysterious power to heal. For Elyse, these things don’t make her special. They make life dangerous. After the death of her parents, she’s been careful to keep her secret as closely guarded as possible. Now, only one other person in the world knows about her age and ability. Or so she thinks. Elyse is not the only one keeping secrets. There are others like her all over the world, descendants of the very people the Greeks considered gods. She is one of them, and they have been waiting for her for a long time. Among so many of her kind, she should not be very remarkable–except for the prophecy. Some believe she will put an end to traditions, safeguarded by violence, which have oppressed her people for centuries. Others are determined to keep her from doing just that. But for Elyse, the game is just beginning–and she’s not entirely willing to play by their rules.

Leave a Reply

