BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Easy by Tammara Webber

on July 6, 2012

“..sometimes, how a situation is perceived carries more weight than the reality of the matter.”

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, stalked by her ex’s frat brother, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Her econ professor gives her an email address for Landon, the class tutor, who shows her that she’s still the same intelligent girl she’s always been. As Jacqueline becomes interested in more from her tutor than a better grade, his teasing responses make the feeling seem mutual. There’s just one problem—their only interactions are through email.

Meanwhile, a guy in her econ class proves his worth the first night she meets him. Nothing like her popular ex or her brainy tutor, Lucas sits on the back row, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. At a downtown club, he disappears after several dances that leave her on fire. When he asks if he can sketch her, alone in her room, she agrees—hoping for more.

Then Jacqueline discovers a withheld connection between her supportive tutor and her seductive classmate, her ex comes back into the picture, and her stalker escalates his attention by spreading rumors that they’ve hooked up. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

Author Recommendation: Mature Young Adults (language, drinking, sexual situations)

Personal Thoughts:

Easy isn’t the first book of Tammara Webber that I read and since I didn’t enjoy much the other one it is really a surprise that I picked up her work again this soon. Thanks to Alba of BookPics for recommending this book to me. This saves me from a lot of unsatisfied read lately.

Easy simply took me by surprise. The event from the first few pages caught me off guard that I almost freak out. With that kind of opening I’m sure I am holding my breath while reading. I applause Tammara Webber for delivering that sensitive scene with care and subtlety without sacrificing the feel of authenticity. Even without the glory details, I felt the heaviness of the scene that I almost want to jump to the pages and hug the character. It is really a powerful starter that simply set the tone of the novel.

Jacqueline as a protagonist is a strong character even sometimes she wasn’t aware of it. She was broken and miserable but she doesn’t let herself drag down by the past events in her life. She is mature enough to handle every situation in her life even the mistakes she personally made. When her relationships end with her long term partner she grieve but she moved on and claim her life and identity back.

“The truth was, he now belonged only to my past, and it was time I begin to accept it, as much as it hurt to do so.”

Lucas is a too good to be true kind of character but I adore him. He is the hero who saves the day and also the one who needs the saving. He is smart, artistic, responsible, hard-working, caring and somehow looks hot with his tattoos and piercing. A mysterious guy with trouble past and promising future. It is nice to meet someone like him in fiction once in a while. I easily figured out the connection between him and Landon which was revealed in the story not too long after. I’m happy that the author didn’t drag that part and let Jacqueline piece things together at the right amount of time.

“I’m off to study for a statistical mechanics quiz. Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to prove scientifically that your ex isn’t worthy of you, and you’re exactly where you should be.”

Jacqueline best friend and room-mate Erin is also strong female character. I like how she carry herself and how rational and strong-willed she is. As a friend to Jacqueline, she is loyal and supportive. Without her I’m not sure how Jacqueline will be. Jacqueline seems don’t open up to her family so without a friend to talk and who will listen to her, life will be tougher for Jacqueline. Erin encouragement and supports help Jacqueline a lot. I also love how hilarious Erin is. She had me laughing and grinning with her witty and funny lines. She is bold, fierce and dependable.

Also, I just want to add that the story is set in college which is really rare. From my reading experience, I can’t remember any young adult book that is set in college. Most of young adult books are high-school setting so it is refreshing to find a YA novel set in different timeline. Personally I preferred the college setting compare to high-school setting. It holds more mature vibe. I think Tammara Webber depicted the college life realistically with all the organizations, student hierarchy, classes, party and humors. It is a close to real set-up of a college life with the characters behaving accordingly.

“Love is not the absence of logic
but logic examined and recalculated
heated and curved to fit
inside the contours of the heart.”

Tammara Webber handles a sensitive subject with compassion that will leave you a feeling of heartache but with satisfaction at the end. With lovely and tragic scenes, intense romance, realistic setting, addictive characters and absorbing story line, Easy is a book that will surely suck you in and consume you after reading.

8 responses to “Easy by Tammara Webber

  1. I am SOOOOO happy that you liked it!!!
    Seriously!!!
    Hehehe oh ~sigh~ L*2 completely swoon worthy!

    Thanks for giving the book a shot girl 🙂

    Like

  2. bellacolella says:

    Reblogged this on Paranormal Book Club and commented:
    Just finished yesterday after letting it site 30 pages form the end!! LOL I loved it great book!!

    Like

  3. […] “Tammara Webber handles a sensitive subject with compassion that will leave you a feeling of heartache but with satisfaction at the end. With lovely and tragic scenes, intense romance, realistic setting, addictive characters and absorbing story line, Easy is a book that will surely suck you in and consume you after reading.” BlackPlume […]

    Like

  4. […] Reads • Blackplume • The Flyleaf […]

    Like

  5. Tennille says:

    I thought the book was great!! I love me a man with ink and piercings! I want to know who the man on the cover of the book is. I think he fits perfectly nad has the right look. I would love to find more pictures of him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

