BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Book to Movie: Books I Want to Read Before The Movie Comes Out

on August 7, 2012

With a lot of books turn to movie I am one of those people who are trying to catch up reading the book first before seeing the film adaptation. Tendency is, if I see the film first I usually end up stalling reading the book, which is a bad thing because most of the time I found the book better than the movie adaptation. I know comparing the two is not fair since they are totally different. They both offer a good entertainment and knowledge but works in different medium. But when a story is adapted from a book to movie or the other way around I can’t help but compare the two.

Obviously, there is no way that a film can capture every detail of a novel in a two or less than three hours. That’s why I enjoy reading a story more than watching it. Reading makes me feel more engaged in the story. It gives me chance to play with my imagination and create a world from words in front of me. When I read I get the chance to play every details in my mind while watching just give me the film makers’ own interpretation of the story. So I try my best to make sure to read the book first before seeing the film.

Here are the list of books I’m aiming to read before the film adaptation hit the big screen:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Synopsis:
Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion marks the stunning debut of a provocative voice in contemporary fiction: The Perks of Being a Wallflower. This is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, andThe Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting coming-of-age story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

Release Date: September 20, 2012

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
Synopsis:
A reluctant voyager crossing the Pacific in 1850; a disinherited composer blagging a precarious livelihood in between-the-wars Belgium; a high-minded journalist in Governor Reagan’s California; a vanity publisher fleeing his gangland creditors; a genetically modified “dinery server” on death-row; and Zachry, a young Pacific Islander witnessing the nightfall of science and civilisation — the narrators of Cloud Atlas hear each other’s echoes down the corridor of history, and their destinies are changed in ways great and small.

Release Date: October 26, 2012

Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
Synopsis:
Pi Patel is an unusual boy. The son of a zookeeper, he has an encyclopedic knowledge of animal behavior, a fervent love of stories, and practices not only his native Hinduism, but also Christianity and Islam. When Pi is sixteen, his family emigrates from India to North America aboard a Japanese cargo ship, along with their zoo animals bound for new homes.
The ship sinks. Pi finds himself alone in a lifeboat, his only companions a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and Richard Parker, a 450-pound Bengal tiger. Soon the tiger has dispatched all but Pi, whose fear, knowledge, and cunning allow him to coexist with Richard Parker for 227 days lost at sea. When they finally reach the coast of Mexico, Richard Parker flees to the jungle, never to be seen again. The Japanese authorities who interrogate Pi refuse to believe his story and press him to tell them “the truth.” After hours of coercion, Pi tells a second story, a story much less fantastical, much more conventional-but is it more true?
Life of Pi is at once a realistic, rousing adventure and a meta-tale of survival that explores the redemptive power of storytelling and the transformative nature of fiction. It’s a story, as one character puts it, to make you believe in God.

Release Date: November 21, 2012

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Synopsis:

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.

Release Date: December 14, 2012 (first installment)

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Synopsis:

In this story of the trials of the peasant Jean Valjean–a man unjustly imprisoned, baffled by destiny, and hounded by his nemesis, the magnificently realized, ambiguously malevolent police detective Javert–Hugo achieves the sort of rare imaginative resonance that allows a work of art to transcend its genre.

Release Date: December 14, 2012

10 responses to “Book to Movie: Books I Want to Read Before The Movie Comes Out

  1. Ana Lucía says:

    Yes, this! I’d like to read every book before the release of the movie, but sometimes is impossible with the poor access to book in this country. I compare them too, I think is impossible not to.

    Nice post 🙂 The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the only one I really want to read, the others I think I’ll settle with the movies.

    Like

  2. Maneesha Haroon says:

    The Great Gatsby!

    Like

  3. bookchilla says:

    Yay for Perks & Life of Pi! still to read Les Miserab and Cloud Atlas. i love this year, so many books-turned-movies 🙂 there’s also The Great Gatsby.

    Like

  4. I think out of all these… the only one I’d be willing to read is ‘The Perks of ….’ >.< lol, since fantasy or historical mixed with fantasy aren't my forte at all!<333
    But hope you can get to read them 😀

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      not a surprise, that’s the only YA book from the above list 🙂 The Perks of being a wallflower is my priority from the above. I just want to read the others too 🙂 I’m trying to mix other genre in my TBR once in awhile.

      Like

      • I’m really bad at historical fantasy… But I’m trying really hard to start to read historical and enjoy them… It might take a while because it’s hard for me to understand old english but I’ll do my best 😀

        Like

  5. […] time I posted a list of books that I want to read before the adaptations hits the big screen, I actually accomplished reading four out of five books […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

