BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Finale (Hush, Hush #4) by Becca Fitzpatrick

on November 29, 2012

“I knew there was no magic trapdoor to escape through. I couldn’t run; I couldn’t hide.”

Will love conquer all?

Nora and Patch thought their troubles were behind them. Hank is gone and they should be able to put his ugly vendetta to rest. But in Hank’s absence, Nora has become the unwitting head of the Nephilim and must finish what Hank began. Which ultimately means destroying the fallen angels – destroying Patch.

Nora will never let that happen, so she and Patch make a plan: lead everyone to believe they have broken up, and work the system from the inside. Nora will convince the Nephilim that they are making a mistake in fighting the fallen angels, and Patch will find out everything he can from the opposing side. They will end this war before it can even begin.

But the best-laid plans often go awry. Nora is put through the paces in her new role and finds herself drawn to an addictive power she never anticipated.

As the battle lines are drawn, Nora and Patch must confront the differences that have always been between them and either choose to ignore them or let them destroy the love they have always fought for.

Personal Thoughts:

When I started reading this Hush, Hush series of Becca Fitzpatrick, I am still at the height of loving paranormal genre in YA. Which makes it easy to like and enjoy the first two books of this fallen angel story. But just like any readers, my preferences also changes. There came a point that I feel swaying away to angel and vampire books because I’m not getting something new anymore. Those angel books that I got the chance to read in the past months are mostly miss than hit. That’s why it took a lot of convincing for me to get back into Nora and Patch world.

Having own the first three books, my inner hoarder self want to buy this last book just to complete the whole series for my shelf. But I also wonder if after few years my copies will end up on a donation box just like the hardbound box set of Twilight Saga that I own few years ago. In the end, I give in and dive in once again to this fallen angels and Nephilim world hoping that Becca Fitzpatrick will give me a satisfying conclusions for Hush, Hush series.

The story picked up right after where the previous book, Silence left off. After Hank Millar died, Nora was left with a task to lead the Nephilim army to war against the fallen angels. Problem is, her boyfriend, Patch is one of the fallen angels. Which put Patch and Nora in the middle of the war. Also, Nora as the new leader isn’t much accepted by her fellow Nephilims. They doubt her capacity and her alliance. So in order to gain their trust, Nora and Patch decide to staged a break-up to mislead the Nephilim army. At the same time they need to find a way to stop the war before it even happens.

For the first several hundred pages nothing much is happening in the story. The war between the Nephilm and fallen angels that I am anticipating since the previous installment isn’t playing well on the plot. It is just all about Nora, her training, and her issues with the people around her. No intricate plans about the upcoming war other than, act like two people who hate each others in front of Nephilim.

In Silence, I thought Nora is on her way in showing some maturity. So I expected her to finally stand out in this book. Instead she go back to the annoyingly irritating version of herself. She makes some impulsive decisions, show unnecessary jealousy and do some stupid things awarely. There are times that I thought she finally acting more mature but she will always bounced back again to the other side.

As for Patch, I just miss him. I miss his presence and his old self. Yes, he is still present in the story but he is a bit behind the curtain. It feels that there’s not enough of him and he is a bit different too. Though I like his romantic side, in here he sounds more sappy and cheesy to me. No more dark and mysterious fallen angel that I used to like.

The war between Nephilim and fallen angels plot line has a lot of potentials. It can offer so much actions and twist and turns. But it didn’t reached the right peak that I am waiting for. It just fall short for me. I think it has something to do with the narration. Nora’s point of view didn’t give much justice. There’s so much going and happening at the background that Nora couldn’t access. Maybe if this is written in multiple point of view, like maybe some part from Patch or Scot then we can get more interesting side stories other than Nora’s self-absorb version. The story should be not about Nora’s insecurity or jealousy, it shouldn’t be about what she think about Dante or what she think about Marcie. It should be about the war and what she and Patch can do about it.

As for the plot twist and turns, nothing massive happen. Most of them I already predicted way ahead. From the real villain to the possible ending and even the side characters revelations. The only thing that I didn’t see coming is the thing with Detective Basso, which I think doesn’t offer much impact to the story. Or it’s just me who don’t care much about it? It maybe justify why Detective Basso is present in all other books but it didn’t give much difference to the plot. It almost feel totally random without any hints or explanations given.

“But strength doesn’t always mean brute force. You don’t have to kick ass to be a fighter. Violence doesn’t equal strength….

War isn’t going to solve anything, but it will tear our two worlds apart, and there will be casualties, including humans. There’s nothing heroic about this war. It will lead to a destruction unlike anything you or I have ever seen”

Compare to the previous books, I think Finale is a bit inferior in terms of tension building and mysteries. I din’t feel the same excitement from Crescendo nor the same thrill that Hush, Hush offers. In here, the villain isn’t as menacing as I expected and the conflict was resolved too easily. The action packed battle that was promised by the previous books didn’t happen. It feels to me that Becca Fitzpatrick played this final installment too safe.

Overall, Finale is a well written story that concludes the Hush, Hush series neatly. Though nothing explosive and much interesting really happens, it still offers something for the series. With less expectations followers of the series might enjoy this conclusion of Nora and Patch love story.

4 responses to “Finale (Hush, Hush #4) by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Jenny says:

    “Instead she go back to the annoyingly irritating version of herself. She makes some impulsive decisions, show unnecessary jealousy and do some stupid things awarely.”

    Well, shoot. That’s exactly what drove me crazy about Nora in Crescendo which is the point at which I stopped reading the series. I need there to be character growth and maturity throughout, and it’s disappointing to know that never quite happens for Nora! Thanks so much for your thoughts on this one!

    Like

    • blackplume says:

      I feel sorry for Nora too. If she just become more likeable as MC this series might be more engaging to read. It has a lot of potentials but unfortunately didn’t push through well.

      I almost give up after Crescendo too but I got this habit of finishing what I usually started. I’m still working on that thing. So yeah, I choose to be one of the victim of this series.

      Like

  2. Aw, I loved Finale! totally understand about your preferences changing though. It happens to all of us. 🙂

    Like

  3. […] move she makes can cause Nora her life. This paranormal romance continues in Crescendo, Silence and Finale, which all debuted as New York Times bestsellers. The film rights to the series have been optioned […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

