BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Holiday Reads

on December 1, 2012

It’s the first day of December, few more weeks before Christmas and I’m planning to spend the coming weeks reading some holiday theme books from my TBR pile. The holiday season is my best excuse to finally crack all those neglected books at the very bottom of my pile. I’m hoping to read most of those books before I put some of them to the donation box that I’m going to send before the end of the month.

Some books are for re-read, mostly consist of Christmas themes and some just got holiday and winter feel on it. There are other tiles that’s not on the list but I would like to read too for holiday. Such as Letters from Father Christmas by J.R.R. Tolkien, and The Snow Child by Eowy Ivey. I don’t have a copy of those two books that’s why they’re not included on my read list this month. Maybe next year they will be part of my holiday reads. For now, here is the list of my holiday reads:

Let it Snow By John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

I’ve been meaning to read this book ever since I bought a copy few months ago. But I decided to wait until this month because I think this would be a perfect read to set a holiday mood. As always I’m excited to read another masterpiece from John Green.

Synopsis: 

Sparkling white snowdrifts, beautiful presents wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms one small town into a romantic haven, the kind you see only in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss from a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to the Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins with a painfully early morning shift at Starbucks. 

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 

I already read this book but since I’m in the mood for more holiday reads I’ll be re-reading this one again. It would be lovely to spent few hours with Dash and Lily once more. And more of David Levithan works will never hurt me. He has his way with words that always amazed me. I can’t wait to dive in again to this lovely book.

Synopsis: 

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the “New York Times” bestselling authors of “Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist.” Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

This is another re-read. Since the book is pretty slim I think I can also add this one for a quick holiday reads. My copy is the celebration of the first edition. This version has the facsimile of the interior of first edition ever published with all the original black and white art by Pauline Baynes. I acquire my copy few years ago and it’s still in perfect condition. I’m planning to add this one to the box of children books I’m letting go. I just hope that who ever get this one will take care of it as much as I do.

Synopsis: 

They open a door and enter a world

NARNIA…the land beyond the wardrobe, the secret country known only to Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy…the place where the adventure begins.

Lucy is the first to find the secret of the wardrobe in the professor’s mysterious old house. At first, no one believes her when she tells of her adventures in the land of Narnia. But soon Edmund and then Peter and Susan discover the Magic and meet Aslan, the Great Lion, for themselves. In the blink of an eye, their lives are changed forever.

Marian’s Christmas Wish by Carla Kelly 

I got this book last January from a fellow book blogger. I don’t really know what to expect from this book. But base from goodreads ratings I think it will also be a good read this holiday.

Synopsis: 

Miss Marian Wynswich is a rather unconventional young lady. She plays chess, reads Greek, and is as educated as any young man. And she’s certain falling in love is a ridiculous endeavor and vows never to do such a thing. But everything changes when she receives a Christmas visit from someone unexpected a young and handsome English lord.

A Christmas CarolA Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens 

I’ve seen the movie adaptation of this book few years ago but I haven’t read the book yet. I know it’s classic, but I’m one of the few who haven’t got the chance to read it. Most of the classic books I’ve read were part of my required reading in school and this one was never included in them. So, I just decided to download a copy from amazon hoping I’ll be able to read the book this month.

Synopsis: 

One of the best-loved and most quoted stories of “the man who invented Christmas”-English writer Charles Dickens-A Christmas Carol debuted in 1843 and has touched millions of hearts since. Cruel miser Ebeneezer Scrooge has never met a shilling he doesn’t like. . .and hardly a man he does. And he hates Christmas most of all. When Scrooge is visited by his old partner, Jacob Marley, and the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet to Come, he learns eternal lessons of charity, kindness, and goodwill. Experience a true Victorian Christmas!

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

I know the story isn’t really about Christmas but the cover looks like a perfect winter read. And I badly need a reason to really read this one. It’s been waiting in my TBR pile for so long already with the other two books of The Wolves of Mercy Fall series. I wan’t to start exploring Maggie Stiefvater works with this book before I dive into her other works like The Scorpio Races which I’ve heard was really good.

Synopsis: 

the cold.
Grace has spent years watching the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—watches back. He feels deeply familiar to her, but she doesn’t know why.

the heat.
Sam has lived two lives. As a wolf, he keeps the silent company of the girl he loves. And then, for a short time each year, he is human, never daring to talk to Grace…until now.

the shiver.
For Grace and Sam, love has always been kept at a distance. But once it’s spoken, it cannot be denied. Sam must fight to stay human—and Grace must fight to keep him—even if it means taking on the scars of the past, the fragility of the present, and the impossibility of the future.

Other than the books I listed above, I’ll be reading also this month some of the books from my TBR pile that are part of my required reads. One for review and some titles I’m hoping to finished before the year ends. These are Before I Wake by Rachel Vincent, Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor, The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, Les Misérables by Victor Hugo, Every Day by David Levithan and The Man Painter by Melissa Turner Lee.

In this busy month, I know my target reads is quite impossible but I’m still positive that I can finish reading all of them. I hope everyone got the chance to read any great book this holiday season. Even those books that don’t have holiday themes on it. Advance Happy Holidays to all!

Leave a Reply

