BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise (Review & Giveaway)

on April 29, 2013

The Boyfriend App

“You know when you look at somebody– really look  at them – and you no matter how long you’ve known them, what you see surprise you?”

From stunning new talent Katie Sise comes an irresistible Cinderella story with a tech twist.

Computer whiz Audrey McCarthy feels most at home in a tech lab, surrounded by her fellow geeks. Once popular and fearless, she hasn’t been the same since her dad died. And her ex–best friend, gorgeous queen bee Blake Dawkins, has turned into her worst nightmare. Audrey is counting the minutes until high school is over and she can get the hell out of Dodge and go to college—that is, if she can find a scholarship.

So when Public Corporation, a giant tech company, announces a contest for the best app developed by a high schooler—with $200,000 in prize money—Audrey is spurred into action. She comes up with an idea so simple, yet so brilliant, she can’t believe it hasn’t been done: the Boyfriend App.

With a simple touch of the screen, romance blooms among the unlikeliest couples at school, and people start to take notice. But it’s not quite enough.

To beat out the competition, Audrey will have to dig deeper. And she does—right into a scandal that would rock Public to its core. Suddenly the Boyfriend App lands Audrey where she never expected to be: in the middle of the limelight, passionately kissed by the hottest guys in school, causing complete and utter mayhem. But can it bring her true love?

Buy a copy from AmazonBarnes and NobleThe Book Depository

Personal Thoughts:

As an IT person I expected The Boyfriend App to be a techie read, which is why I enjoy the programming terms and languages used in the book. I can easily relate to Audrey and her geeky friends, I understand their technical conversations and even the programming languages use in the story. The technical me applause with joy encountering computer or technical words like open source, Linux and java, because those are part of my real world. I may not be as geeky as Audrey who’s hobby is hacking computers and creating apps, but I certainly can relate to her. If Katie manage to use more hard core programming code and syntax I will surely dance with glee reading The Boyfriend App, cause it will be like the book is written for programmers like me. Though I understand that doing so may not appreciate by all readers, after all this should be a fiction to enjoy and not another technical book for IT person like me. So don’t worry for non-IT person, because you don’t really need to be a geek like Audrey and her friends or an IT personnel like me to understand and appreciate the story. Good thing is Katie Sise managed to integrate those technical terms and the IT world in the story with so much ease. The use of social media, apps and other technical ways of communication were well-integrated to the plot.

Audrey is a fun character to read. I enjoy her geeky side but as a main character I think she lacks some depth I’m looking for. I’m still rooting for her though. She kinda reminds of a geek friend I know, someone smart and also joins programming competitions back when we were still in college. Anyway, what I like in Audrey is her determination to proved his Dad’s worth and clean his name and memories. Though we haven’t actually met her Dad in the story, it is clear how close Audrey and her Dad is, and how good person her Dad is. His teaching and reminders to Audrey were usefully scattered in the story. There’s one liner quote from Audrey that I think really attached me to her character, it just feel so me.

“The blank screen give me the familiar feeling of hope — like I could create something from scratch with meaning.”

Then there’s Aidan, Audrey’s friend who happens to be also geeky like her. I have soft spot for geek and nerdy character so Aidan easily get my vote, add to the fact that he is also cute, shy and creative, what more can I ask for? Oh well, there something I think I can ask for, I wish there’s more of him in the story. It feels like his shyness overpower to the point that I rarely see him in the story. I wish Katie Sise provide more information about Aidan and give him more space in the plot.

Another character to love is Audrey’s fashion-loving cousin Lindsay. I think she’s the one that really stands out in the story, because she is the most realistic and lovable character in here. In fact I like her more than Audrey, she is loyal who always there to support her eccentric cousin.

The premise of the story is interesting, it not only focus on the geeky and technological side of building apps but it also discuss some darker themes like bullying, depression and love for family and friends. It is about making a stand for what we believe in, in-spite the odd is against our favor.

There are some area where I think Katie Sise forgot her characters capabilities, where these geeks are doing something that I think is not so geeky. As an IT person I expects them to do something much creative and faster. Anyway, that one just little thing I don’t approved of, the others are quite good even those far-fetch story line. As long as you can suspend some disbelief I think you’ll find The Boyfriend App enjoyable.

Overall, The Boyfriend App is a fun, quick and light-hearted read. Some people may not appreciate the programming technical stuff but in my case I loved it and I did wish that there was more hard core programming in the book. I am really interested with how Audrey created that Boyfriend App of hers.

Read the first two chapters of The Boyfriend App here

The Giveaway:

What’s up for Grabs?

  • Signed ARC of The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

The Rules:

  • Open to Philippine residents only
  • Check rafflecopter for more details

To enter fill out this rafflecopter form

One response to “The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise (Review & Giveaway)

  1. joanna says:

    haven’t heard this book before, but it looks good and I don’t mind about the technical stuffs. It looks fun to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

