Book Tours · Books · Giveaways · REVIEWS

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller (Review & Giveaway)

The Summer I Became a Nerd

About the Book

Title: THE SUMMER I BECAME A NERD
Author: Leah Rae Miller
Pub. Date: May 7, 2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages:352
Find it: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, The Book Depository, Goodreads

“Be true to yourself and others will be true to you, too.”

On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way.

Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

NERD Banner

Personal Thoughts:

When I saw that Rockstar Book Tours is organizing a tour for The Summer I Became A Nerd, I can’t help myself but to sign-up. I just can’t resist that title, especially the last word -“Nerd”. It just scream awesomeness! So even without fully knowing about the book nor the author, I sign-up with a hope of reading a fun and quirky story. Which is what I actually got after reading.

The story centers to Maddie Summers. A girl who is living a double life – a popular cheerleader and a secret nerd. She is one of the popular girls in her school. A cheerleader who has a jock boyfriend and circle of friends which part of the top of the high school status ladder. But Maddie is also an avid comic lover which somehow doesn’t fit with her perfect facade popular image. So she made it a mission to make sure no one will know about her geeky side. When the latest and final issue of her favorite comic series was released, she is desperate to get her hands on it, too bad the only way to get a copy is risking her identity to be revealed to someone. This someone is Logan Scott, a comic book geek who happen to be also her classmates. She’s been crushing on him since he wore a geeky shirt to their school. In one summer Logan shows Maddie how to embrace her love for comics and introduces to her amazing things like live-action role-playing. Soon Maddie finds herself falling deeper and deeper into a world she loves but can’t bring herself to fully belong to.

Maggie is a quirky character. She is likeable for the most parts but oftentimes frustrating. Though not to the point that I want to smack her myself. I just find some of the things she did over  the top. Like when she is disguising herself going to the comic book store. I totally get where Maggie is coming from – hiding her geekyness inside. The teasing experience she got is traumatic especially since she got to endure all of it at such a young age. I can’t totally blame her, but I wish she is not too focus of the others opinion for her, because it just makes her more judgmental than others.

Logan is the typical perfect nerd-dream boy. He is adorably sweet, thoughtful and also responsible. He helps his family with their book/comic shop business, which is perfect for his comic obsession. His passion with comics though not only stop in reading and collecting them, it extends to LARPing (live action role-playing). Other than comics and LARP, he has a passion for music too and he plays soccer in their school. In-spite of being a soccer player he isn’t consider as one of the popular, in fact he is typecast as nerd. But he is proud of it, he is comfortable with himself and his nerd side, unlike Maddie who is too embarrassed to admit who she is and what she love.

Besides Maddie and Logan the other characters are pretty likeable too, from Maddie and Logan’s parents, Logan’s siblings (especially Vera), up to their friends. The most notable of them I think is Logan’s best friend Dan. Everybody needs a friend like him, because he is fun. supportive, and very loyal.

I admit I’m not familiar with all the comic books and characters references, but I still enjoy reading about them. I enjoy how Logan and Maddie is geek-ing about those stuffs. For sure it would be more fun if I can really relate, which somehow I wish I know more about those comics stuffs they are talking about. Because if I know more about The Super Ones or about those comic characters and stories that were mentioned in the book, I’m sure I’ll have a blast reading all those things. But still in-spite of me being clueless about these characters and their super powers, I am completely absorbed to Logan and Maddie’s world of comic books and role-playing games.

“You can’t spend your life being afraid of what other people think.”

The Summer I Became A Nerd is an enjoyable, light quick read about being ourselves and embracing who we are. It shows that sometimes people can surprise us by not matching our expectations for them. That there is always something more about someone than what we usually can see. If you have an inner-nerd inside in you, or you like comics, manga, video games, or RPG (role-playing game), you’ll sure enjoy every bit of this unique, fun and quirky book.

*This review is based on a e-copy I received courtesy of the publisher, Entangled Teen via Rockstar Book Tours in exchange of honest opinion.

About the Author:

Leah

Mother, wife, and YA author living on a windy hill in Natchitoches, Louisiana. I love fuzzy socks, comic books, cherry coke, and brand new office supplies. THE SUMMER I BECAME A NERD coming Summer 2013 from Entangled Teen. Stay cool!

Where you can find Lea:  Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

Follow the Tour:

Week 1

5/6/2013 Nose Graze & Rainy Day Ramblings

5/7/2013 Jenuine Cupcakes & Blackplume

5/8/2013 The Book Belles & A Backwards Story

5/9/2013 Kate’s Tales of Books and Bands & The Starry Eyed Revue

5/10/2013 Jenna Does Books & Book Haven Extraordanire

Week 2

5/13/2013 In The Best Worlds & Ashley Loves Books

5/14/2013 The Hopeful Heroine &  Books of Amber

5/15/2013 A Dream Within a Dream & My Reading Room

5/16/2013 Obsession With Books & Stuck in YA Books

5/17/2013 Chocolate Coated Reviews & JennReneeRead

The Giveaway:

The giveaway is provided by the blog tour host, Rockstar Book Tours

What’s up for Grabs?

  • 3 eBooks of The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

The Rules:

  • Check rafflecopter for details

To enter fill out this rafflecopter form

Update:

The contest is now CLOSED. Thank you to everyone who has entered. The winners are drawn via rafflecopter and posted in the  raffle forms above. Thanks to everyone who entered the giveaway!

6 thoughts on “The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Anything book that says Nerd (or Geek), usually gets my attention too. Because I can relate. Hihi.
    Although I too am not familair with LARP or Comic Books that much. But I do know what it is like to be a fangirl / fanboy, the passion and obsession that comes with it. 😀

    Like

    1. I know right? there’s really something about the word “Nerd”. Even if you are not familiar with LARP and Comic Books I think you will still enjoy the story. The comic references are not too attached to the story. It is part yes, but you will still enjoy it as a whole even you don’t mind much the comics conversations and stuffs.

      Like

  2. Oooo this sounds so cute! And you had me already falling in love with Logan just by calling him a perfect nerd dream boy. LOVE IT. I wasn’t too interested in this one before, but I’m in the mood for something a bit lighter, so thank you for your review!

    Like

    1. yep, definitely cute. And if you are into nerd, I think you’ll like Logan too. The story is definitely light, intended for fun read, no huge dramas at all, which is perfect if you are looking for something fun and quick read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

