Books · REVIEWS

The Assassin and the Empire by Sarah J. Maas

The Assassin and the Empire

“The game had been played, and she had lost.”

Celaena Sardothien is the assassin with everything: a place to call her own, the love of handsome Sam, and, best of all, freedom. Yet, she won’t be truly free until she is far away from her old master, Arobynn Hamel; Celaena must take one last daring assignment that will liberate her forever. But having it all, means you have a lot to lose . . .

This fourth fantastic e-novella gives readers an inside look at the characters who appear in the full-length novel Throne of Glass. Don’t miss out!

Personal Thoughts:

The Assassin and the Empire is the fourth and last novella prior to the highly anticipated full-length novel, Throne of Glass of Sarah J. Maas. Unlike most readers I know, I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet. I decided to devour first all these four prequel novellas before I’ll read the main novel. But it doesn’t mean that I dive into this short novella without any hint of what will happen to the characters. I did wish that I am clueless but unfortunately I am not. I already know what will happen to Sam even before I actually read the story, blame it to online chatting via twitter while I am reading the The Assassin and the Underwood novella. But I don’t think that knowing the future circumstances ruined my reading experience, maybe it lessen the emotional blow but nevertheless I still feel the impact of the situation.

“You might be excellent, Celaena, but you’re not invincible.”

The Assassin and the Empire continue where the previous novella left, right where Celaena Sandorthien and Sam Cortland leave the Assassins keep, and pay their debts to the King of Assassins, Arobynn Hamel. The two are now living together in an small apartment in a low area of Rifthold. Now that they are not in Arobynn care, Celaena slowly realizing how her life is without all the privileged and riches they left behind. With her high maintenance life style, their money and savings will run out sooner than she care to admit. Sam is convincing her to leave Rifthold and start a new life somewhere else, but Celaena insist that they need more money to really do that. She wants one more assassin job from Arobynn before they leave, but Arobynn is not so kind to help them. Until Sam find one huge and risky job for both of them. One job that will pay huge if they done it well.

Let me skip discussing about the main character, Celeana Sandorthien and her beloved Sam Cortland, and just focus on the King of Assassins, Arobynn Hamel instead. Though he isn’t much present in this novella, he still the one who leaves the biggest impact in the story for me. He is a cunning and deceptive villain and I like the impression he’s leaving me every-time he shows in the pictures. I keep on expecting him to do something bad, or plotting something for his own benefit when he is around. He is an effective villain. I’ll give him credit for being cunningly smart and devious. He keeps my minds busy as I read because I keep analyzing his motives. I like that he can make me perceptive as a reader. Usually I don’t like that most if not all of my guesses perfectly fit the schemes and plot twist, but in here, even if my ideas fits, I still enjoy how the turns of events go. It’s like I’m unfolding hidden secrets that I am actually part from the start.

“He was using words as chains to bind her again. He’d has so many chances over the years to tell her the he loved her—he’d known how much she’d craved those words. But her hadn’t spoken them until he needed to use them as weapons.”

Sarah J. Maas is one talented writer. The way she weaved all four prequel novellas of Throne of Glass series is wonderful and neat. I haven’t read many novellas from a young adult series that actually leave me invested in the story and totally concerned with the characters, especially when I haven’t read the main novel first. Mostly novellas are just a my in-between read, something to mix with my other reads to lessen the boredom but with this series and from the first novella alone, I am sold already by the author’s writing, and the intriguing and dangerous world that she created, that I am willing to read more books from this series.

4 thoughts on “The Assassin and the Empire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Glad you are enjoying this series. Reading your reviews for the novellas makes me curious with this fantasy series. Though I might skip the novellas and just start the full length novel since I don’t have an eReader yet where I can read electronic books. Maybe someday or if the novellas become available in print. For now, I’m looking forward for your review for the Throne of Glass.

    Like

    1. This whole series is so great! I just finished last night the second installment, Crown of Midnight and it was amazing. I hope you’ll be able to read the whole series including the novellas. You don’t need an eReader to read eBooks there are apps you can install to your PC or cellphone. You can even read the eBooks online via amazon CloudReader. Trust me those novella are worth it. I think you’ll understand and love the main character more if you read those short novellas. But I’m not saying that you won’t enjoy the full length novels if you won’t read the novellas. And Crown of Midnight is the BEST!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

