FEATURES · Quotes

Quotes: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Slammed

Colleen Hoover‘s Slammed series is one of the few contemporary series I loved so much and actually made it to my favorite reads. I haven’t tried reviewing any book yet from this series, because I know that I will just ramble too much and won’t justify how wonderful they are.

Anyway, since I’m not capable of writing a coherent thoughts at the moment, I will just share some beautiful lines that I loved from the first book, Slammed. Actually, there so much more I want to share like the beautiful and hearth-felt poems from the book, but I think that you need to read the story on your own to fully experience the beauty of those lines. I’m planning to do a reread of all three books of this series soon and hopefully after that I’ll be able to share my thoughts coherently to all of you and convince you more how great this series is. For the now, let me just tease you all with these quotes from the first book.

LIFE

“If I live the life I’m given, I won’t be scared to die.”

“Don’t take life too seriously. Punch it in the face when it needs a good hit. Laugh at it.”

“It’s not just lies they’re referring to. It’s life. You can’t run to another town, another place, another state. Whatever it is you’re running from-it goes with you. It stays with you until you find out how to confront it.”

“It wasn’t death that punched you, Layken. It was life. Life happens. Shit happens. And it happens a lot. To a lot of people.”

“…sometimes life doesn’t happen in chronological order.”

“Nothing is permanent. The only thing any of us have in common is the inevitable.”

LOVE

“I’ve never regretted it. Questioned it? Sure. But never regretted.”
“Is there a difference?” I ask.
“Absolutely. Regret is counterproductive. It’s looking back on a past that you can’t change. Questioning things as they occur can prevent regret in the future. I questioned a lot about my relationship with your father. People make spontaneous decisions based off of their hearts all the time. There’s so much more to relationships than just love.”

“You’ve been doing so much thinking with your head that you’re ignoring your heart completely. There has to be a balance. The fact that both of you are letting other things consume you is about to ruin any chance you’ll ever have at being happy.”

“Always remember there is nothing worth sharing, like the love that let us share our name.”

DEATH

“Death. The only thing inevitable in life.”

“But now–it’s like God has it out for us. Why both of them? Wasn’t my dad enough? It’s like death came and punched us square in the face.”

LIES

“The weight of lies will bring you down, follow you to every town ’cause nothing happens here that doesn’t happen there.”

POETRY

“The points are not the point; the point is poetry.”

“So what if the heartaches you wrote last year isn’t what you’re feeling today. it may be exactly what the person in the front row is feeling. What you’re feeling now, and the person you may reach with your words five years from now- that’s why you write poetry.”

“People are free to write what they want to write about. But the thing that bothers me is, what if the person who writes it doesn’t want to relive it? What if a dude performs a slam about a bad breakup, but then he gets over it and moves on? He falls in love with some other chick, but now there’s probably this YouTube video floating around on the internet of him talking all sad about how his heart got broke. That sucks. If you perform it, or even write it down, someday you’ll have to relive it.”

SOME REMINDERS

“Question everything. Your love, your religion, your passion. If you don’t have questions, you’ll never find answers.”

“Push your boundaries, that’s what they’re there for.”

“Choose your battles, but don’t choose very many.”

“Never judge others. You both know good and well how unexpected events can change who a person is. Always keep that in mind. You never know what someone else is experiencing within their own life.”

“…respect the hand that I was dealt. And to be grateful I was even dealt a hand.”

“Understanding a situation doesn’t always make it easier”

“Keep an open mind; it’s the only way new things can get in.”

“Laugh a lot. Never go a day without laughing at least once.”

“People can’t cry forever. Everyone eventually falls asleep.”

 

5 thoughts on “Quotes: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

  1. “If I took every romantic poem, every book, every song, and every movie I’ve ever read, heard or seen and extracted the breatht …more This Book is BEYOND Amazing!It warmed my SOUL…It brought Tears to my eyes….Even as I look at these beautiful quotes from this book, it brings out emotions which no book has ever brought out for me.

    Like

  2. **Quick thoughts from Amy: I loved Will. I loved Lake. I loved everything about their story and the beautiful, complex characters that surrounded them. This series touched me on a level most books never even come close to.. I wish I could explain it better, but I just can’t do it justice. Every time I came across quotes or Avett Brothers lyrics or poetry, I held my breath with anticipation as I searched for the meaning embedded in the words. I truly love that. I really do. This is such a great series that is so beautifully written.. I highly recommend these books!

    Like

  3. consequences. I loved this book because of the amount of promise it brought to the series. It brought our characters to the brink of greatness, put them in the positions that were surely going to change the course of this entire story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

