The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

The Distance Between Us

“Sometimes it’s the little things that bring that special someone back to us in some small way.”

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Personal Thoughts:

More than a month ago I am under a reading slump problem, a whole month of DNF piles and lots of attempt to get back to reading and reviewing. I struggle finishing any full length novel, all I can manage to finished are short stories and novellas. Then I decided to asked online for a new fantasy or contemporary novel recommendations, hoping for something that will end up my reading slump status. Most of the recommendations I get are titles I already read or books I don’t have way of getting my hands sooner except for one book, The Distance Between Us by Kasie West which is recommended by Rachel of Fiksthun. Turned out, Rachel is right as always because after my so many attempt this book is the only one that ended my reading slump stage. Once I started it nothing stop me from reading till the end. Not even the late hours, sleepy condition, or the working schedule the next day.

From the title alone, I anticipated Kasie West novel to be a another story of rich-guy-meet-poor-girl. And as I expected The Distance Between Us uses the same plot arc except that it doesn’t really focus in that area alone. More than the fairy-tale romance or the Cinderella factor, the story is really about finding oneself, discovering your potential and learning not to judge others by their appearance. Kasie West use a common plot and explore it in a new way with her refreshing and fascinating characters.

Caymen is raised alone by her mom above the doll shop they owned & managed. They sell porcelain dolls which mostly cater rich people. Growing-up her mother instill to her the idea of rich people only care about themselves and their money. With that Caymen get her fun mocking rich people mostly in her head. When Xander Spence enter their doll shop one day, Caymen can’t help but notice how rich he is, from his clothes, shinny shoes, down to his mannerism and movement. But in-spite of her personal distaste with rich people like Xander, she can’t help but get intrigued with the guy.

“But knowing about someone doesn’t equate to knowing them.”

Caymen is not an easy character to like. She started as stubborn and even annoying at times but as I read more from her point of view, I can’t help but enjoy her dry sense of humor. Her sarcasm becomes more fun than offensive which makes her dialogue entertaining to read. In-spite of her sarcastic and tough appearance, it is clear that Caymen is really vulnerable inside. I think her sarcasm were more of a shield to protect herself from getting hurt. Clearly she isn’t perfect and she is quite aware of it.

Compare to Caymen, Xander Spence is an instantly likeable character. In-spite of the not-so-good-impression from his first meeting with Caymen, I still like the guy right from the start. Maybe because of the intrigue that Caymen created around the guy right at that first meeting. Caymen is so focus in stripping Xander personality base on his physical appearance which turned out not exactly what Xander really is. He has some moment of rich-guy-attitude in him but you can’t blame that to him because he is really rich after-all. One of the lucky person who was born with gold-spoon in his mouth. He is thoughtful, caring and has a high-spirited tune in him.

“Is that your subtle way of saying you missed me last week?”
“I’ve missed my hot chocolate. I just think of you as the guy who brings it to me. Sometimes I forget your name and call you hot chocolate guy.”

The dyamic between Caymen and Xander is just plain entertaining. Their banter is fun and even insightful at times. Their friendship grows fairly well, nothing instant or super-fast development. Predictable yes, but still entertaining and sweet. I also enjoy reading about the career day that these two do together. I like that it emphasize the importance of finding what you want to do in your life and it was done in a fun and clever way.

The ending is a bit fast and crazy which may not always work to all readers, but in my case it doesn’t actually lessen my enjoyment with the book as a whole. There are some unresolved issues and unanswered questions about Caymen’s father, and her mother family issues, but somehow I don’t mind those missing details. Kasie West writing is so engaging and addicting that I enjoy the story so much. Her witty one liners from Caymen’s point of view has me laughing or grinning while reading.

Filled with humor and sweet romance, The Distance Between Us is a light, charming, and entertaining read that will put a smile in your face. Something you should pick-up if you are looking for fun and quick read, because it certainly didn’t fail putting a smile on my face and tickle in my stomach. Caymen and Xander story is so much fun for a contemporary novel.

2 thoughts on “The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

