BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Author & Character Interview: Author Julie Cross & Jordan Bentley of Letters to Nowhere + Giveaway

on September 12, 2013

Letters_to_Nowhere_BT_Banner

So excited to do both author and character interview today. I still can’t believe I’m doing both in one post. This is the first time I’m doing this and I’m so thankful that Julie Cross allow me to do both interviews. I feel extremely lucky for having her and Jordan on the blog.

For those who aren’t familiar yet with Julie, she is the New York Times Best Selling Author of the Tempest series. As of this writing there were two books out from that series – Tempest and Vortex. If you read my reviews you know how much I love both books. Those books were amazing and I highly recommend them for the intricate time travelling plot. There’s one more book, Timestorm coming out as part of that series so be sure to check that one also once it comes out. Back to Julie, as I said she is here today and she brings along Jordan Bently with her. They were both nice enough to answer few questions about Julie’s self-published novel, The Letters to Nowhere. Another lovely book from Julie that I dearly love.

Interview with Jordan Bently

1. What is the most daring thing you’ve done so far?

I don’t know, I guess that question is pretty relative to what you’re afraid of most. I’ve definitely pulled some crazy pranks in my years in boarding school, but since I’ve never been caught, I’m gonna have to keep those details classified.

2. If you had to describe the day you first met Karen in your house using a song, what song will it be?

Dare You To Move by Switchfoot

3. What is one thing that surprised you the most about Karen?

This is going to sound bad, but she’s not as uptight as I expected her to be. She’s mature. She’s cool. I don’t really get in trouble any more, but I figured telling her about some of those wild years would freak her out and but it didn’t.

04. If you will write a song for Karen, what will be the first few lines?

I’d probably start with something about her hair. It’s reddish brown and it’s the kind of color that changes depending on what she’s wearing and how much light is hitting it.

4. If you can spend one whole day with your dad, and let say he is in a good mood. What are the things you want to tell or ask him? What are the things that you’ll do together?

Honestly, I just like to hang out with none of the animosity we usually have, and it goes both ways. I imagine if we could lift that off our shoulders for one day, if we could forget all the time that’s past with so many things unsaid, I imagine we could talk about almost anything. But that’s pretty idealistic so I’m not holding my breath.

07. Finally, what’s new with you? Will we be seeing more of you and Karen in any future books?

Oh yes, we still have to accomplish—separately and together.

Interview with Julie Cross

1. Letters to Nowhere is a self-published novel unlike your Tempest series. What made you decide to publish it on your own instead of going to traditional publication?

There were a lot of factors involved in this decision but the biggest ones were 1) Letters to Nowhere is very different that Tempest series books and wasn’t the best follow-up novel for me with big publishers 2) It doesn’t fit the mold of YA perfectly because it has some New Adult themes—living on your own, career planning—and the content doesn’t quite fit NA perfect either so it’s in this gray in-between area and often those type of books do best self-published. 3) I wanted to give self publishing a shot. Many authors have experienced lots of success going this route and I’ve learned a lot from my experiences thus far and that knowledge gave me an advantage going in.

2. You’ve completed Letters to Nowhere in 14 days, how was the writing experience for you? Is this the fastest story you’ve ever written so far? Or you are just really quick in finishing your novels?

I’m always really quick, but this is the fastest thus far and the least amount of major changes in the editing process.

3. I’ve read from your website that you are a former gymnastics coach, which I assume explains why Letters to Nowhere is about a gymnast character. How has your background influenced your writing?

I understand the athlete’s mindset and the coaches as well. And I understand the sport so this allowed me to write it authentically and there aren’t too many subject matters like this that I could write as true-to-life as Letters to Nowhere is.

4. Tell us a little about your main characters. Being a gymnastics coach, how much of yourself is hidden in the characters in Letters to Nowhere? Is there any part of the story that tells your personal experience?

No personal experiences involved in Letters to Nowhere other than the fact that I love, LOVE gymnasts with great basics and perfect technique and that’s something that is for sure a major component in Karen’s gymnastics success. Karen has a great very solid training foundation and she’s just waiting for the moment to break out. To pull off the big skill that will place her on top.

5. What do you want your readers take with them after reading Letters to Nowhere? Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

I think there’s a lot of messages in Letters to Nowhere but mostly I want to evoke strong feelings in readers, whatever those may be.

6. Letters to Nowhere seems an open ending story, is there a plan to continue Karen and Jordan story? If yes, how many books will it be, and when should we expect the next installment?

I plan to write at least two more books or I might release the next one in parts just to get it out sooner. I hope to have something else with Karen and Jordan out this year.

ABOUT JULIE CROSS

Julie Cross

Julie Cross is the International Bestselling author of the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, and the final installment, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press). She’s also the author of Letters to Nowhere (8/13), a mature young adult romance set in the world of elite gymnastics, as well as several forthcoming young adult and new adult novels with publishers like Entangled, Sourcebooks, HarperCollins, and St. Martin’s Press/Thomas Dunne Books.

Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres. Outside of her reading and writing credibility’s, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict. You can find her online via twitter, her personal website, email, facebook, Goodreads, or co-moderating the YAwriters section of reddit.

FIND JULIE

Webiste | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Youtube

ABOUT LETTERS TO NOWHERE

Letters to Nowhere ALT Cover

Book details:

Publisher: Long Walk Press
Pub. Date: August 1, 2013
Pages: 288
Add to Goodreads

Buy your copies from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

From the International Bestselling Author of the Tempest Series…

Set in the tough world of Elite Gymnastics…

I’ve gotten used to the dead parents face. I’ve gotten used to living with my gymnastics coach. I’ve even adjusted to sharing a bathroom with his way-too-hot son. Dealing with boys is not something that’s made it onto my list of experiences as of yet. But here I am, doing it. And something about Jordan–being around him, talking to him, thinking about him–makes me feel like I can finally breathe again. That’s something I haven’t been able to do lately. He knows what it feels like to be me right now. He knows what it’s like to wonder–what now? I think about it constantly. I need answers. I need to know how to get through this. In the gym, if you’re struggling, you train harder, you do drills and conditioning. How do I work hard at moving on? At being on my own? And what happens if I might be…maybe…probably falling for Jordan? I mean we live together now. That can’t happen, can it? But kissing him…well, let’s just say it’s not an easy activity to forget.

The Giveaways:

What’s up for Grabs?

* Grand Prize Package Giveaway to one winner

* An eBook of LETTERS TO NOWHERE to FIVE winners

GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY!!!

AUTOGRAPHED Finished Copies of

All 3 of Simone Elkeles’ HOW TO RUIN series
TEETH by Hannah Moskowitz
GONE GONE GONE by Hannah Moskowitz
LET THE SKY FALL by Shannon Messenger
BITTERSWEET by Sara Zarr

ARCs of October 2013 YA Releases

UNBREAKABLE by Kami Garcia
ANYWHERE BUT HERE by
BANG by Lisa McMann
REALITY BOY by A.S. King
NEVER FADE by Alexandra Bracken
SIX MONTHS LATER by Natalie D. Richards

ARCs of November 2013 – FEB 2014 YA Releases

ALIENATED by Melissa Landers (Feb 2014)
ROOMIES by Sara Zarr & Tara Altebrando (Dec 2013)
AFTER EDEN by Helen Douglas (Nov 2013)

Grand Prize Package

OTHER BOOK PRIZES

Personalized signed copies of TEMPEST + VORTEX (a foreign edition if available can be swapped for the U.S. edition)
E-copy of LETTERS TO NOWHERE by Julie Cross (if print is available at time of shipping, a print copy will be sent, too)

WINNER’S CHOICE (ONE of Following BIG prizes)
Basic US Kindle (valued at $69.00 USD) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007HCCNJU/ref=sa_menu_kdptq
OR
$50 US Amazon Gift card
OR
$50 US Barnes and Noble gift card

*As some prizes may not be redeemable by international participants, alternative suggestions are welcome but not guaranteed.

The Rules:

The Grand Prize giveaway is open internationally, however international winners can only select five of the books listed due to shipping costs.

To enter fill out the rafflecopter FORM

Good Luck!!!

Check the rest of the Letters to Nowhere book tour

Week One

Sept. 3rd – The Book Cellar – Review & Guest Post
Sept. 3rd – Reading In Twilight – Guest Post
Sept. 4th – A Backwards Story – Review
Sept. 4th – The Irish Banana – Review
Sept. 5th – Bittersweet Enchantment – Interview
Sept. 5th – Book Breather – Review
Sept. 5th – Never Too Fond of Books – Review
Sept. 6th – Curling Up With A Good Book – Guest Post
Sept. 6th – Oops! I Read A Book Again – Review

Week Two

Sept. 9th – Page Turners – Review & Guest Post
Sept. 9th – Gobs and Gobs of Books – Interview
Sept. 10th – Crawling Over The Pages – Guest Post
Sept. 10th – Musings From An Addicted Reader – Review
Sept. 10th – Sweet Southern Home – Guest Post
Sept. 11th – Mom With A Kindle – Interview
Sept. 11th – Reading with ABC – Review
Sept. 12th – Gone with the Words – Review & Guest Post
Sept. 12th – About to Read – Review
Sept. 12th – Blackplume – Interview
Sept. 13th – Every Free Chance Book Reviews – Guest Post
Sept. 13th – Literary Meanderings – Review


5 responses to “Author & Character Interview: Author Julie Cross & Jordan Bentley of Letters to Nowhere + Giveaway

  1. I reviewed the book today and I love it! Thanks for the interview 🙂

    Like

  2. It sounds awesome. Thanks for the chance 🙂

    Like

  3. Krizia Almiranez says:

    love the cover ❤ great reviews and high ratings 🙂 really seems like a great read! 😀

    Like

  4. Looks like such a good YA book! Already marked it as to-read 😀 Thank you for the review!

    Like

  5. heta s says:

    I am intrigued by Karen’s character .

    Like

Leave a Reply

