BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

When the World was Flat (And We Were in Love) by Ingrid Jonach

on October 4, 2013

When the World was Flat (And We Were in Love)

“Looking back, I wonder if I had an inkling that my life was about to go from ordinary to extraordinary.”

When sixteen-year-old Lillie Hart meets the gorgeous and mysterious Tom Windsor-Smith for the first time, it’s like fireworks — for her, anyway. Tom looks as if he would be more interested in watching paint dry; as if he is bored by her and by her small Nebraskan town in general.

But as Lillie begins to break down the walls of his seemingly impenetrable exterior, she starts to suspect that he holds the answers to her reoccurring nightmares and to the impossible memories which keep bubbling to the surface of her mind — memories of the two of them, together and in love.

When she at last learns the truth about their connection, Lillie discovers that Tom has been hiding an earth-shattering secret; a secret that is bigger — and much more terrifying and beautiful — than the both of them. She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again.

An epic and deeply original sci-fi romance, taking inspiration from Albert Einstein’s theories and the world-bending wonder of true love itself.

Personal Thoughts:

I started When the world was flat (and we were in love) without any idea about the story. I didn’t even read the blurb at the back of the book until I was half way reading. Being oblivious with the story line I guess is what push me to be intrigued more with the plot. Right after meeting the characters I’m already formulating possible scenarios for them and how will the story will flow. I get glued from the mystery dreams where the main character, Lillie get murdered in her dreams. I want to know what is the meaning behind those dreams, how her dreams connected to her reality and to the people around her.

Then there is the new guy Tom, who carry his own brand of mystery. He is playing hot and cold to Lillie and he obviously connected to her in some way because Lillie has these memories of them being together. The question is how are they connected? Are they lovers from the past, like some soul mates reincarnated? Do they really live that past from Lillies memories?

“How do you make the toss count if you choose both sides of a coin, right?”

I’m not really particular with the science stuffs but I love books that can make my mind busy exploring and understanding the ideas it presented and this book offers something near the end. I’m not sure if the story can be consider as a science fiction especially after it bends some science principles in order to fit in to the plot, but with me keeping in mind that this is a fiction romance novel makes me enjoy the story more.

My previous understanding of Einstein theory of relativity does not actually match the explanations that this book provided, but I have to admit Ingrid Jonach version is much easier to understand than what I remember when I first encounter the theory of relativity. At least I don’t have to worry about quantum mechanics this time. But as I’ve said earlier, Ingrid Jonach version is not for anyone to take as fact, because if you do I’m sure you’ll get a hard-time enjoying this book and might just find yourself arguing with the author. Keep in mind that this is a fiction story and not a science book, so try not to focus on how science and law of physics were bent to fit for plot. Just take Ingrid version as it is, after-all it’s her own story, her characters and their world.

If there is one thing I wish Ingrid Jonach explore more is the existence of the Circle. This secret organizations seems interesting but unfortunately wasn’t explore much in the story. I want to know more about them – how they functions, their goals, motivations and beliefs.

As for the ending, I honestly not sure how to feel about it. As much as I want for the characters to get the happy ever after they deserve I’m still undecided if what they get in the end is in fact a ‘happy ending’. I actually have few possible conclusions running in my mind on how will the author will end Tom and Lillie’s love story, and if I can choose for them I think I’ll go with the tragic one. Not that they don’t deserve to be happy, it’s just that I can’t accept the idea that they have to pick between suicide and murder in order to get a happy ending. And is it really happy ending if you end up with someone who is just like a clone of the one you really love? This ending reminds me of Tom Cruise movie Oblivion, if you’ve watch the film, you know what I’m saying.  Also, Tom’s (the character in the book, not Tom Cruise) choice in the end negate his principles about merging. I can’t believe he choose the easy way out for love after all the things he went through and all he is fighting for.

When the World Was Flat (and we were in love) is not a perfect novel but it is a highly imaginative one. If you can suspend some disbelief and allow some science rules to be bend then you’ll definitely enjoy this love story that travel across time and dimensions.

One response to “When the World was Flat (And We Were in Love) by Ingrid Jonach

  1. jhudiam says:

    “As much as I want for the characters to get the happy ever after they deserve I’m still undecided if what they get in the end is in fact a ‘happy ending’.” – that makes me curious. I think I should check this one myself. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

