Crash into You (Pushing the Limits #3) by Katie McGarry

Crash into You

“Life isn’t made-for-television movies or books with happy-ever-afters. Sometimes the choices we’re presented with are bad or worse.”

From acclaimed author Katie McGarry comes an explosive new tale of a good girl with a reckless streak, a street-smart guy with nothing to lose, and a romance forged in the fast lane

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that’s who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers…and she’s just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can’t get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they’ll go to save each other.

Personal Thoughts:

Crash Into You is the third book in the Pushing the Limits series by Katie McGarry, which story focus on Isaiah Walker and his accidentally found friend Rachel Young. We’ve known Isaiah as the not so good guy in Pushing the Limits and one of Noah Hutchins’ close friend. Physically Isaiah looks like a gangsters with his earrings and tattoos. He grew up in foster cares, trying to survive life one day at a time. He is now living in a rented apartment with Noah and both still struggling financially. Which pushed him to try drag racing. There Isaiah met Rachel Young, a rich kid who is obviously in a wrong place at the wrong time. Soon Rachel and Isaiah find themselves in a huge situation where they have to race against time and bad people. Can Isaiah protect Rachel from his own world?

I know from the start that Isaiah is a good guy despite of all the piercing and tattoos. Because one of the few things I’ve learned from reading Katie McGarry books is that appearance means nothing. I made a mistake of judging Beth before from Pushing the Limits, because it turned out in Dare You To that Beth is not what she is trying to project. With that I know that Isaiah is just like Beth – masking their real self to the tough world in order to survive.

Still with that knowledge Isaiah manage to surprise me in this book. His facade is so control and well-kept that I didn’t realize right away up-to what extent his projection is. Not that I’m surprised to find out that he can bend himself, it’s just that some revelations about him is unexpected, especially after what he shown in the first two books, Pushing the Limits and Dare You To.

As I’ve said before from my review of Dare You To, Isaiah just need his chance for a better life. Just one shot and I know he won’t disappoint and I’m so happy that that chance came to him. A chance to prove himself and show everyone what he can do, what he is willing to sacrifice and what kind of person he really is.

“She didn’t fit into any cliché or box. It’s like she was a mystery I was in the middle of solving then I was yanked from the case.”

Rachel as what Isaiah said from the above quote does’t fit the rich kid’s box. She isn’t the stereotype kind of character. For one, she’s a girl who know about cars more than most boy characters in this book. She maybe rich but inside she got lots of issues. Her family doesn’t even see her for what she is. For them, especially to her parents, Rachel is just her dead sister’s replacement. Add the panic attack and her over protective brothers, she will surely feel suffocated by their perfected life. If not for her love for cars, I’m not sure how can Rachel battle her family. Because Rachel behind the wheel is courageous and daring. She find peace and strength when she is shielded by her car.

Though that courage isn’t really enough. It is meeting Isaiah that really drives Rachel to do things she never thought she can. It’s like meeting Isaiah fueled her to push more of her boundaries. She found more strength she didn’t know she had until she met Isaiah.

Isaiah and Rachel maybe comes from the opposite side of life but they are not really that different. They are both living their lives in careful facades – carrying and projecting themselves to what people expect them to be. Their passion for cars and speed racing is what brought them together. They complement one another in a way that not bring the best for each others but also let people around them realized that different doesn’t always mean wrong or unmatched.

Noah, Beth, Echo and even Ryan makes an appearance in the story which I think is a good inclusion to the plot. By simply putting them back, Katie McGarry managed to show the importance of friends and family. For a little span of time she makes these characters involved in Isaiah and even Rachel’s life.

Besides with those old characters, we also got the chance to meet few more new faces like Abby, Rachel whole family, and few bad guys that provided conflict in the story. I also can’t help but noticed how Katie McGarry put lots of guy characters in this book. Beside from Isaiah, Noah, Logan, Ryan and Eric’s gang, there’s also Rachel’s four brothers, Gavin, Jack, West, and Ethan. For a romance story this is definitely over-powered by men, add the drag racing plot and gangsters we have a thrilling ride that not only gives adrenaline but also full lots of emotions while managing to be fun as well. I enjoy reading the part where Rachel brothers all go get protective with Rachel. When Rachel barely mentioned she will never going to be kissed by any guy and all his brothers go all panic and protective of her and the conversation almost went like a sex talk or something. It’s hilarious!

Another character that surprised me in this book is Abby. The feisty and very outspoken friend of Isaiah. I had this inkling that she is one of the bad people in the story. At some point I even thought that she’s working for Eric. I misjudged and underestimate her character not because of her appearance but more on because I keep on estimating everyone’s character. Like I need to calculate everyone’s move and their motives.

Katie McGarry writing is simply captivating. I am hooked once again from start to end by her absorbing and perfectly paced writing. She provided enough tension and conflict between her characters that makes the story engaging. Isaiah’s struggle between controlling the situation and protecting Rachel and everyone he cares is well executed. It emphasize the value of trust and acceptance. That sometimes our protection isn’t always enough and we have to let someone choose their own path and experience their own failures.

The story also deal with lots of car race and for someone who don’t know anything about cars like me, I enjoy the story so much. I don’t know anything about mechanics, engines or anything that is car related. I don’t even know how to drive for god sake! But I still enjoyed reading everything car related from this book. I may not really understand all of those car terms nor picture those car talks in details, I am not also an adrenaline junkie like Logan but I surely enjoy the ride with the characters of Crash into You. Reading those drag race and car scenes kinda reminds me of the Fast and the Furious movies, and it gives me high and speed. Liked it fueled me to read more and more until I reached the end even my eyes and body were telling me to stop and rest.

“I should be right beside Isaiah and Logan as they work on my car, but I can’t. Being in the same room is bad enough. How can anyone watch surgery being performed on a loved one, much less hold the scalpel?”

Fueled by engaging characters, tough but realistic situation, Crash Into You is highly engrossing and entertaining read. A wonderful addition to the Pushing The Limits series that shows the value of trust, friendship, love, and family while offering speed and thrilling ride of emotions to all its readers.

* This review is based on an eBook I received courtesy of the publisher, Harlequin Teen via NetGalley.

15 thoughts on “Crash into You (Pushing the Limits #3) by Katie McGarry

Add yours

  1. LOL!! The first passage you chose… I chose almost the same one for my review-though my review isn’t up on the blog just yet-
    I love all the realistic and scary situations!

    I loved Abby too!!! I need a “friend” like her in my life! lol.

    Like

  2. You have no idea how much I’m dying to read this book. I love this series, especially PtL.

    I’m glad that Isaiah surprised you, that is always a nice thing in books especially when a characters gets her/his own book. I’m also looking forward to all the cars stuff, I don’t know much but I do love cars so reason #58 why I want this book so badly.

    Great review 🙂

    Like

  3. sounds like a great read. I like this quote:

    “Life isn’t made-for-television movies or books with happy-ever-afters. Sometimes the choices we’re presented with are bad or worse.”

    makes me interested to read the book. Great Review!

    Like

  4. I totally agree with you. In Katie’s books, appearance means absolutely nothing. I think that helps me connect with the characters.

    Lovely review! I can’t wait to read this.

    Like

  5. As a big fan of all Katie McGarry’s books, super excited to get my hands on this one. After reading your review, my excitement just doubled if possible. 🙂

    Like

  6. I love the quotes that you used. They tottaly reflect the story and the characters. I also like these lines:

    “Isaiah’s struggle between controlling the situation and protecting Rachel and everyone he cares is well executed. It emphasize the value of trust and acceptance. That sometimes our protection isn’t always enough and we have to let someone choose their own path and experience their own failures.”

    very well said! Great review!

    Like

  7. Wonderful! I’m hearing a lot of great things from this series. I have a copy of PTL, which I won, but haven’t started it yet due to endless tbr! I hope I could soon. Can’t wait to have the feels! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

