Book to Movie: The Giver (Movie Trailer)

Before I got lost with Suzzane Collins’ The Hunger Games series and Veronica Roth’s Divergent series I am already enamoured by Dystopian fiction because of Lois Lowry’s The Giver. But I am not aware of Dystopian as a genre at that time. So I classified the book as fiction no more no less. Now, thinking about it, The Giver is one of the first few dystopian novel I have read and definitely one of the best too. It is thought provoking and simply amazing. If anything else the book makes me appreciate my freedom and memories more. So when I found out that the book is adapted for movie I can’t help but get excited to see the story in big screen.

For those who are not aware about the book, the story follows Jonas, who lives in a Utopian society where there is no disease, poverty, money or divorce. Everyone has a role in this society, and everything is controlled, even their emotions. It’s a life of conformity and contentment for Jonas until he’s given the role of The Giver. As The Giver he is the receiver of memory — every information, histories and secrets of the society will be transferred to him. He will be the repository of all information. And as the secrets unfold in Jonas eyes he starts to discover the dark secrets of his world.

The movie adaptation will star Jeff Bridges as The Giver and Brenton Thwaites as Jonas with other great actors like Meryl Streep, and Katie Holmes. The film is coming to theaters in August 15 but before that watch the trailer below.

Have you read the book? What do you think of the trailer? If you haven’t read the book, I urge you to do so. It’s one of the best dystopian novel out there.

3 thoughts on “Book to Movie: The Giver (Movie Trailer)

  1. I have read the book ages before, like you before I even knew that a Dystopia genre even existed. It would be interesting to see how it would translate into a movie, given the emotion-packed words that gave color to the story.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.