Interviews

Author Interview: Chloe Miles

Chloe Miles is here on the blog today to answer some questions about her books, Faded series.

Interview with Chloe Miles

Q1. What got you interested in writing? And why Paranormal YA, in particular?
Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always had a vivid imagination and loved creating stories in my head. I’ve always been a hopeless romantic and loved the idea of finding your one true love, and I’ve always loved stories with an element of magic to them, so writing a paranormal romance seemed like a perfect fit.

Q2. Where do you get the ideas for the Faded Trilogy? What is your writing process like?
I wanted to write a paranormal romance that was a little different to everything else that’s already been written. I loved the idea of earthbound spirits protecting the town from evil. And, being a hopeless romantic, I loved the idea of eternal undying love, especially between two characters who are so young but whose love is so rare and beyond their years.
It happened to be storming when I was coming up with the idea for the series, so that’s the inspiration behind the power over the weather that the characters possess and the unpredictable storms terrorizing the town.

Q3. Which book of the trilogy was the hardest to write and why?
I think See No Evil was probably the hardest to write of the three books, simply because I already had my beginning and knew how I wanted the ending. See No Evil needed to sustain the series and I had to come up with a creative way to achieve that, which was a little intimidating at first. Some of the chapters in See No Evil actually ended up being some of the most exciting and action-packed to write, so I’m really happy with how it turned out.

Q4. Faded trilogy are self-published novels, what made you decided to do it on your own? Did you ever consider getting a publishing deal?
Self-publishing seemed like the most obvious path to take because it is so accessible these days. Honestly, trying to secure a publishing deal wasn’t something that even crossed my mind. I love the idea of being creatively in control of my own work, so self-publishing just seemed like the path that was most suited to me.

Q5. What has been the best part of self-publishing? What has been the hardest?
The best part by far is having 100% creative control. That always has been and always will be the most important part of writing for me. The hardest part is definitely the self-doubt. There’s no assurance of success, which is a little worrying at times. But I’m nothing if not a dreamer, and I have huge plans in mind for the series … specifically, world domination. That’s not asking for much, is it?!

Q6. What are you reading now? Any recommendations for us?
I don’t really have much time to read at the moment since all my time is taken up with promoting The Faded Trilogy. But I did really love The Fault in Our Stars. That was probably the last one I read, and I would definitely recommend it. (Although, I think nearly everyone has read it by now anyway!)

Q7. Are you working on any project right now? What we should expect from you in the near future?
I want to dedicate my heart and soul to The Faded Trilogy and ensure its success before I move on to any other writing projects. You never know what may happen in the future in regards to other writing projects, but right now my heart belongs to Savannah and Hunter.

Q8. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
The idea of Savannah and Hunter’s love for each other is that the strongest feelings we feel aren’t always physically felt but felt wholly and powerfully within your heart. I believe there is a powerful and inspirational message behind The Faded Trilogy, and I hope that the readers will walk away from this series with a little more hope and love in their hearts.

Thank you so much Chloe for stopping by today and for answering all my questions.

Check The Books:

Faded (Book 1) : Amazon | Barnes & Noble

See No Evil (Book 2) : Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Ever After (Book 3) : Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Chloe Miles

Author Chloe Miles

Chloe Miles is a twenty-something author, dreamer, shameless chocoholic and hopeless romantic. When she’s not writing or daydreaming, she loves escaping reality with her favourite playlists, eating too much chocolate, and curling up on her couch in her PJs with a good TV show and a cup of tea. The Faded Trilogy is her first series.

Find Her

Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

Leave a Reply

