Books · Giveaways · REVIEWS

A Court of Thorns and Roses Blog Tour : Author & Character Interview + Book Review + Giveaway

ACOTAR Tour Banner

Interview with author, Sarah J Maas:

Q1. ACOTAR is tagged as the “blending of Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore”. Having read a few versions of Beauty and The Beast and Tam Lin I was impressed by how much ACOTAR feels seamlessly plotted together. How much of the book did you already have in mind when you started writing ACOTAR? How did you decide which part of the legendary ballad/fairy tale you would use/twist and what did you add to make it more of your own?

First of all—thank you! That’s so incredibly kind of you to say!

To answer your question… Even though ACOTAR retold/blended three different fairytales, I knew from the start it’d be its own original fantasy novel—with nods to the inspiration and those stories here and there. So when I began writing it, I did have a vague idea of where I wanted the story to go thanks to those three tales and their influence, but I also just let the story and characters head in the direction they wanted.

Q2. ACOTAR has more sexy scenes than the Throne of Glass series, have you encountered pushback or resistance from your editor/publisher on what should and shouldn’t be in this book?

Actually, no! From the start, my amazing publisher has been on board with the mature content in these books, which has been both a relief and a joy. It’s wonderful to be able to write the scenes as they demand to be told—and have my publisher be completely supportive of it!

Q3. Feyre is a kick-ass heroine like Celaena. What was one thing writing Feyre’s character has taught you about yourself that Celaena hasn’t done yet?

Such an interesting question! Feyre definitely taught me that there is strength in in opening yourself up to another person, to love, to life. Even if it’s scary, even if it could hurt you, there is strength in opening yourself up to all of that.

Q4. Fae characters are usually good in twisting of words for they are very tricky and deceitful. Have any of them deceived you while you were writing their story or have you yourself lied to them? If yes, can you tell us more about these experiences?

Hahaha, while writing ACOTAR, there were definitely some surprises that I didn’t see coming. Like Rhys. Oh, Rhys. He strolled onto the page without my planning it, and completely took over everything. But I didn’t realize what and who he really is until I got deeper into the book.

Q5. If you were to be stuck behind a mask forever, what design/character do you think you will be wearing and how will it represent you as a person/writer?

Omg. Alexander McQueen. Hands down. It’d be the perfect combination of romance and darkness and epic glory. Which is basically what I write.

Interview with Lucien:

Q1. When Tamlin brought Feyre into your world, what was your first impression of her? Did you actually believe that she could possibly break the curse?

If we’re talking off the record—which I suggest for your sake that we are—when I first beheld Feyre, I thought Tamlin had lost his damned mind. And when I realized that her presence alone meant my friend was dead…Curse or no curse, I wouldn’t have minded seeing her handed over to the Bogge. So, no—I didn’t think she stood a chance at breaking it. I thought she was vile and savage and ignorant. She, thankfully, changed my mind about that impression. A little.

Q2. Your loyalty to Tamlin is unquestionable, if there is one thing that would change that, what do you think will it be?

The one thing that would have changed that has been dead for a long, long time.

Q3. We didn’t get the chance to meet your beloved. Can you tell us more about her?

I don’t want to talk about this. Ever.

Q4. If you could ask for one thing, what would it be?

To have her returned to me, and to run far away from the hell that Prythian has become.

Q5. As a fae, you are good with twisting words, what is the biggest lie/twist you’ve ever told?

I wouldn’t be a very good liar if I admitted to that, now would I?

Q6. I know you are an immortal but I am just curious, have you ever thought of dying? What do you think will be in your epitaph if ever?

Here Lies The Most Cunning and Loyal of Foxes.

….Or something equally compelling. Go talk about death with Feyre—she likes to brood over such things.

About The Book:

A Court of Thorns and Roses

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Book Links: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book DepositoryGoodreads

Personal Thoughts:

Beauty and the Beast is a favorite fairy tale story of mine. I grew up singing every songs from the Disney version, watch every films I know retelling or not, seen plays, and read most of the books I can get my hands on. It’s basically a part of my entertainment life, a “tale as old as time” that never get failed to makes me feels and remember. So when I found out that Sarah J. Maas new novel is tagged as “blending of Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore” I know right away that I’ll be reading A Court of Thorns and Roses. I set my expectations and gladly discover that A Court of Thorns and Roses is more than what I hope for.

Sarah J Maas impressed me once again in this new novel of her. Having read her novels from Throne of Glass series I already knew that she is an incredible writer. She has a gift for pulling me into her incredible world of words. And in here, she just continue to amaze me. For a retelling, A Court of Thorns and Roses is so much rich and wonderful.

The characters are all impressive. Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, and Rhysand are another set of characters to follow. They capture not only my attention but also my heart. I love them all almost equally. In a short period of time that I follow their stories I care for them like a friend I always known. I smile with their every jokes, I ache for them when they are hurt, I cheer and hope for each of them. They matter to me just like real person.

“I don’t believe in Fate. Nor do I believe in some ridiculous Cauldron.”

Feyre is a strong heroine that owns her character very well. She isn’t like Belle from the Beauty and the Beast which is actually a good thing. Instead of love for books, Feyre is more into paintings. But like Belle, Feyre is a loving daughter. Her loyalty to her family is admirable.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

I don’t usually like faeries, they are usually portrayed as manipulating liars but in here I just love them, especially Tamlin and Lucien. As a High Lord of the Spring Court, Tamlin is wise and very powerful but in front of Feyre he has this awkwardness that cannot be hide which makes him a little bit endearing in my eyes. Like the Beast from my favorite fairytale he is rough and hot-tempered but he is also gentleman-like.

Lucien started as the rude and unwelcoming host to Feyre but to be honest I like his guts. His rudeness carry most of funny banter with Feyre. It just add fun to the story. Also, Lucien is a loyal friend to Tamlin. Anyone should have a friend like him. Someone who watch your back and take the fall for you and the people you love.

Another faerie that captures my attention is Rhysand. He is very charismatic but what I really like about him is his character development. He isn’t introduce right away in the story but when he appeared I know he has a role to play. He is another example of multi-layered character, weaved with mystery and depth. There so much in him than meets the eye. He is both a victim and a survivor, a villain and a hero. I’m really looking forward knowing him more in the next installments of this lovely series.

As for the villain, Amarantha actually started as the regular villain, clouded with greed and dark heart. But as I expected from Sarah J Maas, her villains are never just the regular bad guys, not paper-thin type of characters. Once Amarantha’s background is reveal, readers will finally see and understand her actions and motivations.

Another proof of well written character is Feyre’s sister Nesta. I’m really surprised when Sarah reveal Nesta’s true heart. She has a strange way of showing her love but it make sense and somehow feels realistic.

The world-building is just exquisite. Sarah J. Maas can really draw a vivid imaginary world easily. In this book she not only created a dark and dangerous faerie world but also a captivating and easy to get-lost fantasy land. I feel like stepping into a new place but with the feeling of familiarity, like seeing things in different views or with a pair of faerie eyes.

“…when you look at it– when you acknowledge it—that’s when it becomes real. That’s when it can kill you.”

For a retelling, A Court of Thorns and Roses offers so much more than those other stories where it is based from. Sarah J Maas’ seamlessly and creatively mixed those different tales and transformed them into something new, beautiful and thrilling. A fantastic mixed of magic, romance, action, and adventure. Lovers of story “tale as old as time” will surely approved of Sarah J. Maas own version.

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grabs?

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses prize pack (hardcover copy of ACOTAR + swag)

The Rules:

  • Open to PH residents only
  • There will be one (1) winner only
  • Winner will be chosen by rafflecopter

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

4 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses Blog Tour : Author & Character Interview + Book Review + Giveaway

  1. I LOVE SARAH J MAAS!!!! oh yes! I’m shouting it haha 😀 I

    love ACOTAR and can’t wait to read Queen of Shadows soon. More Maas’ books please!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

