Books · REVIEWS

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

P.S. I Still Love

“Things feel like they’ll be forever, but they aren’t. Love can go away, or people can, without even meaning to. Nothing is guaranteed.”

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

Personal Thoughts:

With how the first installment To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before ended, P.S. I Still Love You is one of the most waited sequel in my reading list this year. I just have to find out what happen next to Lara Jean and Peter. That “Dear Peter” ending from the first installment is such a tease and I must say, a very effective one. I mean, a year of waiting is not unusual for me, or even pre-ordering copy but rushing to book store despite of busy schedule just to pick-up my copy – that say something, add the fact that I read the book from start to end without a pause or break and didn’t get sleep even with an early call at work. So yeah, I badly need to know Lara Jean’s end of story.

P.S. I Still Love You is a relationship story. It’s Lara Jean’s relationships with all the people around her. From her family, friends, partner and other people who are part of her life.

What I really like about this duo-logy is how I can easily relate to its main character, Lara Jean. Reading her story makes me feel everything she is feeling without even really experiencing them on my own. Even I don’t actually tear up, I still get all immersed into all the drama of Lara Jean’s love life as well as the moments of her family life. It’s a heartfelt journey for me reading Lara Jean’s story.

“So much of love is chance. There’s something scary and wonderful about that.”

From the blurb I already expected a love triangle in P.S. I Still Love You. And even I’m not a fan of that kind of set-up I embraced what this novel can offer. Though my vote is clearly for Peter Kavinsky, I still welcome John Ambrose McClaren presence in this final installment. Because how can I not like McClaren if all he did is love Lara Jean. He can be the right guy for Lara Jean.

Peter can also be the right guy for Lara Jean, in fact he is already that guy, he just need to own it. He isn’t exactly the good guy in here which is kinda expected but he is not the bud guy either. Even if I didn’t agree with all his decisions and actions I still like him better for Lara Jean. There is something in them than just chemistry. It’s like they are meant to be together. And I just want more of Peter Kavinsky. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before offer more of him than P.S. I Still Love You. I really wish there’s more of him in here.

“People come in and out of your life. For a time they are your world; they are everything. And then one day they’re not. There’s no telling how long you will have them near.”

I feel sorry for Genevieve and the friendship she lost. It’s so sad how things ended between her and Lara Jean. But like in real life bad things happen. People change, friends leave, things go wrong, and sometimes we have no way to fixed them. Those are all part of growing up. Sometimes we just have to accept things as they are and continue to live our life. Staying in the past is more hurtful than accepting the present. We all need to move on at a certain time in our life.

And just like in any relationships, there is always bumps in the road. No relationship is smooth or easy-going otherwise the relationship isn’t real. Nothing is perfect and Lara Jean and Peter realize that. Complications are part of any relationships or life in general. We just have to deal with all the complications. They will be our source of triumphs someday because they will help us grow and learn something from them.

Jenny Han continue to show the family dynamics of the Song family. Though Lara Jean’s older sister Margot is not always visible in the story, the other Song’s family members Lara Jean’s Dad, and Kitty with her new puppy are enough to show another layer of Lara Jean. Her regular banter with Kitty alone are adorable and funny. Love that kid, so feisty, funny and smart. She really makes this novel light in spite of all the issues that Lara Jean is dealing.

P.S. I Still Love You reminds me that sometimes we don’t need a complicated or intricate plot to be engrossed or gripped by a story. Real and raw emotions are sometimes enough to trigger something inside us. I didn’t exactly cry reading this one, but all the emotions I feel are more than enough for me to relate, remember, and realize things – and for me these things matters in reading.

A very heartfelt and satisfying conclusion of Lara Jean’s story. I’ll definitely do a reread soon.

3 thoughts on “P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. So here’s the real comment… attempting to rewrite what I said earlier here. or the short version

    well first, I agree with you about Peter Kavinsky. I did wish also that there is more of him from this book so please fairy god mother a.k.a Jenny Han..please give us more of Peter Kavinsky!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

