BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Book Tour: In Real Life by Jessica Love (Author Interview + Playlist + Giveaway)

on March 1, 2016

Today I’m super excited to kick off the promotional tour for IN REAL LIFE by Jessica Love. I absolutely adore this book — there’s music, vegas adventure, swoon-worthy guys (yes plural) and lots of fun. If you love music and contemporary reads like me, In Real Life should be on your reading list. And the good news, you don’t have to wait, because the book finally released today!

Jessica was nice enough to answer a few questions for me and also share a fantastic playlist of In Real Life for us to listen too. I hope you guys enjoy the interview and listen to the playlist below.

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour for more interviews, reviews, guest posts and giveaways! And watch out for my review for In Real Life in two days.

Interview with Jessica Love

Hannah and Nick met online and become friends, for an author like you what do you think is the advantage & disadvantage of internet or social media?

I love the internet and social media so much! It’s helped me so much as a writer to keep in touch with other writer friends. I’m able to have people cheering me on and brainstorming with me at all hours of the day and night, even when they live far away. Much like Hannah and Nick, the friendships I’ve made online are some of the most special in my life.

Disadvantages? It’s a huge distraction! It’s way too often that I should be writing and I find myself on twitter or instagram or websites I don’t even care about. I could get books written twice as fast if I could just completely disconnect. But I can’t. Because I love it.

In Real Life has diverse characters (Hannah is korean, her best friend mexican), how did you manage to create those cast of characters? Is there any research you have done to make sure they sound real?

I just wanted to make the cast of characters in IN REAL LIFE look like the people in my life. For me, “write what you know” means writing characters that reflect the world I live in, and I don’t live in a world where everyone is white.

Hannah is Korean, my two best friends growing up were Korean, and my husband is Korean, so I have a whole Korean side of the family I can draw upon for research.

If Hannah and Nick could say one thing to you about the direction of their story, what would they say?

I think both of them would be irritated that everything takes so dang long…but these two have a lot of drama they need to work out. And Nick would definitely have a bone to pick with me about Hannah’s encounter with a certain member of his band.

What was one of the most surprising things you’ve learned in creating Hannah?

When I first started writing Hannah, I didn’t intend for her to be like me at all. But as I worked on this book more and more, Hannah started looking more and more like me. She shares some of my insecurities and issues, and this is not something that happened on purpose.

If Hannah could turn the tables on you and write a story based on your teenage years, what would the title of that book be and what would be the first line?

Oh, man. That would be the most boring book ever. My teen years were not very exciting.

The title would be something like “My So-Called Life” (which I think might be taken, but whatever)

And the first line would be “Another day of summer vacation, another day playing solitaire alone in my bedroom.”

Are you working on any project right now? What we should expect from you in the near future?

I just had a baby a few months ago, so it’s been tough getting back in the swing of writing. I am finishing up my last semester of my MFA program, so I’ve been working on a book for my thesis. I have a few things I’m going to send to my agent soon, so we’ll see if any of those have some staying power. I’d love to have some more books out in the near future!

Thank you so much Jessica for stopping by today and for taking the time to answer all my questions above.

IN REAL LIFE PLAYLIST

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jessica Love AuthorJessica Love is a high school English teacher in Los Angeles, California, where she met her husband and her two tiny dogs online. She is the co-writer of Push Girl with Chelsie Hill.

 Find Jessica

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr| Snapchat | Goodreads


ABOUT THE BOOK

In Real LifeBook Details:

Title: In Real Life
Author: Jessica Love
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Publication Date: March 1, 2016
Pages: 237
Formats: Hardcover 978-1-250-06471-4 / $18.99 eBook 9781466870994 / $9.99

Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since 8th grade. They talk for hours on the phone, Skype all the time, regularly send each other presents, and know everything there is to know about one another.

There’s just one problem…Hannah and Nick have never actually met.

Hannah has spent her entire life doing what she’s supposed to, but when her senior year spring break plans get ruined by a rule-breaker at school, she decides to finally break a rule or two herself. She impulsively decides to road trip to Vegas, with her older sister and BFF in tow, to surprise Nick and finally declare her more-than-a-friend feelings for him.

Hannah’s romantic gesture backfires when she gets to Vegas and meets Nick’s girlfriend, whom he failed to mention to Hannah for the past three months. And it turns out his relationship status isn’t the only thing he’s been lying to her about. Hannah knows the real Nick can’t be that different from the online Nick she knows and loves, but now she only has one night in Sin City to figure out what her feelings for Nick really are, all while discovering how life can change when you break the rules every now and then.

Book Links:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | iBooks | GooglePlay | Goodreads | Publisher

PRAISES FOR IN REAL LIFE:

“A sweet, honest story that begins as so many of our relationships do: online.” —Emery Lord, author of Open Road Summer

“Love expertly creates a timely and entertaining story set on the glamorous Vegas strip, complete with rock and roll, gambling, love, and drama. Readers will relate to the characters in this book and their effortless use of technology to support relationships.” —School Library Journal

“[A] sweet story ideal for contemporary teens whose lives play out in similar computer-and-text-message-related ways.” —Booklist

“The story manages to find its heart when it focuses on Hannah and Nick’s relationship. The warmth and intimacy of their friendship is convincing, and readers sighing over their long history will root for their relationship.” —Kirkus Reviews

“As Hannah and Nick work out the kinks of having to interact in person, they discover the advantages of taking things to the next level in this sweet, straightforward romance.” —Publishers Weekly

“A witty and entertaining story of friendship and secrets with a sparkly Vegas backdrop. Jessica Love knows love!” —Kristin Rae, author of Wish You Were Italian

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

  • one finished copy of IN REAL LIFE by Jessica Love

The Rules:

  • Open to US / Canada addresses only
  • There will be one (1) winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced by rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends March 22, 2016
  • Prize will be sent by the publisher

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

4 responses to “Book Tour: In Real Life by Jessica Love (Author Interview + Playlist + Giveaway)

  1. I almost jumped on the blog tour for this one. Can’t wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In real life sounds like a great story ♡ I would love to read this book. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Christina R. in the rafflecopter

    Awesome how she integrated diversity into her story, because it’s good to finally see characters that reflect all our friends and family in real life!

    awesome concept! lovely interview! 🙂

    thank you so very much 🙂

    I have a Canadian address but rafflecopter might show my location outside Canada because I’m doing a semester abroad

    Like

Leave a Reply

