Books · POETRY · REVIEWS

Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics

Mouthful of Forevers

“The poems never judge me for healing wrong.”

Titled after the poem that burned up on Tumblr and has inspired wedding vows, paintings, songs, YouTube videos, and even tattoos among its fans, Mouthful of Forevers brings the first substantial collection of this gifted young poet’s work to the public.

Clementine von Radics writes of love, loss, and the uncertainties and beauties of life with a ravishing poetic voice and piercing bravura that speak directly not only to the sensibility of her generation, but to anyone who has ever been young.

Personal Thoughts:

I’m not sharing my own poetry composition today, instead I’ll be sharing my thoughts about the latest poetry book I read, Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics. This book is actually part of my required reading for this month as it was picked by Precious for our literary reading challenged this year. It is not a literary book but since April is National Poetry Month, we made an exception of adding a poetry book in our list.

To be honest, I didn’t even know that this book exist, if not for Precious Mouthful of Forevers is totally out of my radar. For someone who write poetry, I don’t really read published poetry books. Though I have read few contemporary fictions written in verse or those that has poetries in them such as Sarah Tregay’s Love and Leftovers and Fan Art, and Colleen Hoover’s Slammed series, I rarely pick-up poetry books. There are only few poetry titles you will find from my shelves and most of them are gifted to me.

Anyway, Mouthful of Forevers is the first poetry book I am reviewing here on the blog. I’m not sure if I know how to do review for poetry books nor if I am qualified to write one. Even if I do write poetry and appreciate verses and lines I’m not sure how to critique them. They are not fiction where I can point out the plot’s details or issues, character developments, or the writing style, poetry is more sophisticated and personal. It has more layers and depth that can be interpreted in hundreds of ways but still may not equal to the authors own meaning or interpretation.

So instead of interpreting Mouthful of Forevers or try to explain the poetry inside it, I will just discuss my experience in reading Clementine von Radics poems.

As someone who write poems, I know that poetries are form of expression. That’s what it is for me most of the time. It’s my way of expressing my self and my thoughts. With that, poems for me should at least show the writer’s emotions/feelings and thoughts. Poems doesn’t need to be relate-able but it is best if the verses are affecting the readers. If I can feel the writer’s thoughts, hear his voice, picture a story in my mind, and affect me with his words then I can say that his poetry is a good piece of writing.

In Mouthful of Forevers, I can easily picture Clementine words and thoughts but for some reason I can’t hear her voice. I’m not pertaining to the actual sound of her voice of course, all I’m saying is I cannot picture the author in her writings. I cannot reached unto her no matter how hard I tried. Maybe she’s a teenager or at least young adult based from the entries, but did I feel her words like a soul pouring her feelings and emotions to the pages of this book? Sadly no. Is that too much to ask for poetry book? Probably yes but I still prefer my poetry reads affecting.

I even do a reread hoping that the second time will finally give me idea what Clementine wants to express in this collection. But in the end, I still don’t feel her in her writings. I cannot tap to her thoughts and feelings like I normally experience when I read good poetry. And sadly, I didn’t feel her words like real emotions to experience.

Leave a Reply

