Books · REVIEWS

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen #2) by Jodi Meadows

The Mirror King

“Not even the strongest could defend against everything. Not forever.”

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.

Book Links: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Goodreads | Publisher

Personal Thoughts:

So, I have read The Mirror King just right after I finished reading the first installment, The Orphan Queen, which means there might be a chance that this review is affected by the first installment.

If you are not yet aware, I love reading fantasy novels, most of the books I own are from that genre. And having read lots of fantasy books I can’t help but compare this series to other titles that I have read especially those with almost the same plot with this one. Basically, the main reason why The Orphan Queen didn’t impress me is because everything in that book are too familiar. Either I have read it before or already anticipated the flows of the plot. But still I continue reading the second installment, Mirror King with the hope that I find something new or at least see the resolution for the characters being the final book that it is.

But as I continue reading, the more unimpressed I become. Not only there’s nothing new in this series but also there are no resolutions in the end. Though the writing is good, and a lot of things actually happened, in the end, I still feel unsatisfied and frustrated.

“Sometimes we hate others for the things we hate in ourselves.”

Main reason is the wraith issue wasn’t really resolved. Right from the book one, readers are feeds with the characters problem with the wraith. And in this installment it become a major conflict, but in the end the characters didn’t find real solutions for it. As much as I want to consider that maybe the author wants to provide a realistic ending, for me, it feels more like a lazy resolution.

Just like how the love triangle was handled. When Tobias announced from the first book that he is marrying Meredith in-spite of his strong feelings toward Wil, I already dreaded how the author will resolved the romance angle. Meredith death is not unexpected, but the way it was executed is just lame. And the worst part, one of the involve character dismiss Meredith death as something light. Sure, Wil feels guilty, and Tobiah get angry at Wil but did I feel Tobiah’s anger? Did I feel his lost? No for both, especially after he acted in the end.

Then we have the villains deaths. Honestly, I expected a lot from Patrick. I thought, he will be one of the multi-layered characters given his background as a leader of the resistance, but unfortunately he is just one f those paper-thin villain. He has so much potential but played so thin and small in this installment. And the other villain, Tobiah’s uncle (I can’t remember his name, that’s how unimportant he is to me), well his death is also lamely executed. Those battle scenes in the end feels like a blur of chaos wherein death and sacrifices didn’t pulled much reactions nor feelings from me.

“The best mask is a face no one will remember.”

I have more issues but I think I’ll just cut it here otherwise more spoilers will spill.

As for what I like, I’m glad more of the Ospreys were introduced and shows their powers. Chrysalis, the wraith boy is also an interesting character. I just wish, he was treated properly by the main character. And James, well I’m still conflicted with what happened to him in the end, but overall I like him as a character ever-since he was introduced from The Orphan Queen.

Overall, The Mirror King has some issues but it is still an entertaining read. Many things happened in this installment which will surely make readers occupied from first page to end.

* This review is based on an advance readers copy I received courtesy of the publisher, Katherine Tegen Books an imprint of HarperCollins International in exchange of honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

