BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee (Playlist + Giveaway)

on August 8, 2016

Celebrating Debutantes 2016 Second Wave

Kathryn Ormsbee is on the blog today to share a playlist she made for her debut contemporary novel, Lucky Few. I’ve been listening to the playlist while reading the book. The songs really set the mood for me. It adds more feels while reading. I hope you all listen to the songs below and enjoy them as well.

Following the playlist are some information about author Kathryn Ormsbee along with places where to find her online, as well as the book description and where to get copies of Lucky Few.

Also, be sure and check the bottom of the post for all the details on a how to win fabulous prizes which include a signed hardcover copy of the book to read.

Here’s Kathryn with Lucky Few Playlist.

Lucky Few Playlist

I can write without music, but I cannot outline or revise without tunes. They give me inspiration, encouragement, and a little pep in my step as I work toward impending deadlines. So naturally Lucky Few has its very own playlist! Some of the songs jive thematically with the book’s off-kilter, macabre tone. Others evoke strong memories of late spring and Austin, Texas. All of them were instrumental (see what I did there?) in helping me write and revise the book. Hope you enjoy the listen! I think it’s the perfect playlist for a weekend drive on the highway, windows down.

Thank you so much Kathryn for creating the playlist for us. I’ve been listening to the songs while reading Lucky Few. I even added them to my music from Spotify. Most of the songs are new discovery for me. It’s really nice to discover new songs and playlist to listen to.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

KathrynOrmsbeeKathryn (K.E.) Ormsbee writes Middle Grade and Young Adult books. She is the author of LUCKY FEW (Simon & Schuster, 2016), TASH HEARTS TOLSTOY (Simon & Schuster, 2017), and THE WATER AND THE WILD books (Chronicle). She likes clothes from the 60s, music from the 70s, and movies from the 80s. She is from the 90s.

Find Kathryn

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


ABOUT THE BOOK

Lucky FewBook Details:

Title: Lucky Few
Author: Kathryn Ormsbee
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 07, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.

Book Links:

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Goodreads | iBooks | Publisher

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

  • Signed Hardcover copy of Lucky Few plus bookmarks
    LUCKY FEW Giveaway

The Rules:

  • Open to US/Canada Residents only
  • There will be one (1) lucky winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced by rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends August 29, 2016
  • Prizes will be sent by the author

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

Treat yourself to a complete #CelebratingDebutantes2016 experience. Click the image below for the full list of schedule and links to each second wave feature post!

CD2016 Second Wave Collage

 

Advertisements

8 responses to “Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee (Playlist + Giveaway)

  1. isisthe12th says:

    Lucky Few sounds great ♡ Looking forward to reading this book. I love the cover! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing! The whole faking death aspect sounds pretty interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Preston says:

    I like the sound of this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like such a cute read! And I love that cover!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] and Omens by Jeri Baird The Voyage to Magical North by Claire Fayers Frayed by Kara Terzis Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw Life Before by Michele Bacon The Hawkweed Prophecy […]

    Like

  6. I love the sort of indie vibe on the playlist. Will surely listen thoroughly to those songs when I’m in the mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kara S says:

    I have heard nothing but great things about this novel…I love it when authors create playlists appropriate to their works of fiction — so much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: