BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (Author Interview + Giveaway)

on September 14, 2016

Celebrating Debutantes 2016 Second Wave

So thrilled to feature another amazing author and debut novel today for Celebrating Debutantes 2016.

Author Krystal Sutherland is nice enough to answer few questions for me about her writing and her upcoming debut contemporary novel Our Chemical Hearts. I have read few chapters of this lovely book and I am really excited to get my copy and continue reading when the book finally hit the shelves this coming October. It’s one of those contemporary read that you know you will love.

Scroll down to learn more about Our Chemical Hearts and the author, Krystal Sutherland. And don’t forget to check the giveaway at the bottom for a chance to win an advance readers copy of the book.

Enjoy reading the interview.

Interview with Krystal Sutherland

So when you decided to finally pursue writing seriously, did you know what sort of stories you wanted to tell or did you just sort of feel your way? What led you to Our Chemical Hearts?

I absolutely knew what kind of stories I wanted to tell – and then ended up writing in a completely different genre! Growing up, I was obsessed with fantasy and science fiction (I still am), and that was always what I wanted to write. And I did, for a little while. I wrote three manuscripts before Our Chemical Hearts, but I wasn’t in love with any of them. Our Chemical Hearts was just supposed to be a palate cleanser, a break between these big, epic, fantasy stories I had planned in my head – but I fell in love with the story and the characters and it came to me so easily that I decided to pursue it.

Many readers who had the chance to read Our Chemical Hearts in advance praises you for delivering a heartwarming and funny novel, how does it feel? How much fun did you have writing the book?

I had a lot of fun writing the book, especially since previous manuscripts had been more of a drag to write. I’m so glad that readers are responding to it!

How did you go about putting yourself in the mindset of Henry considering you are not a boy nor a teenager like him?

It’s funny, before I wrote from Henry’s perspective, all of my main characters had been girls and I’d really struggled to get into their voices. Usually they just ended up becoming weird fictional versions of me. Henry was much easier to write, because we were so different. I was able to step outside of myself and really develop him as a character from the ground up.

I have read the first two chapters of Our Chemical Hearts from Entertainment Weekly. Which makes me more excited to read the rest of the book when it comes out. I can see how the book was tagged as “John Green meets Rainbow Rowell”. How does it feel to be lined up with talented authors? Have you read any of their books? Which one do you like most?

You’re taught, as an unpublished author, not to pitch your book as “great author meets great author” because no one will take you seriously! Like if you said your book was “Harry Potter meets Star Wars” whoever was reading the pitch would probably just roll their eyes, because it sounds too good to be true. To see Our Chemical Hearts sold as “John Green meets Rainbow Rowell” is just so surreal. I’m a huge fan of both of them and have read most of their books.

Awesomeness Films has acquired the film rights to Our Chemical Hearts. I know it’s too early to ask for news about it, so just share to us how excited are you. Did you ever thought that your first novel will hit the movie screen someday?

Again, when you’re an unpublished author, it’s kind of drilled into you to not even think about the movie rights selling. And then when the movie rights do sell, you still can’t get too excited, because a lot of the time the material will never actually make it to the big screen. But I’m quietly confident with Awesomeness. They’re doing cool things in Hollywood. They’re a new studio, so they’re young and fresh and hungry. I’m crossing my fingers.

Where do you see your writing going after the release of Our Chemical Hearts? Do you think you’ll stick writing YA contemporary or branch out into something else?

Eventually I hope to write something fantastical, the kind of thing I used to read when I was a kid. Magic, dragons, zombies, spaceships, that sort of thing. For now, though, I’m loving telling YA contemporary stories with eccentric casts of characters and touches of everyday magic.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I’m going on tour when the book is released, so come see me and say hi! I’ve got my Australian and US tour dates up on my website, and will be adding UK, Dutch and Belgian dates soon. Keep an eye out.

Thank you so much Krystal for answering all my questions above and have fun with your upcoming tours. I hope you got the chance to visit us here in Philippines too. I would love to meet you in person.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

author-krystal-sutherlandI am Krystal Sutherland, writer of books. Or, more specifically, I am the writer of one lonely book, OUR CHEMICAL HEARTS, which is being published in October 2016 by Penguin in the US and ANZ, and Hot Key in the UK.

I was born and raised in Townsville, in the far north of Australia. Since moving to Sydney in 2011, I’ve also lived in Amsterdam, which was awesome but cold, and Hong Kong, (though I speak neither Dutch nor Cantonese).

Growing up, I never dreamed of being a writer. I wanted to be a) a florist, then b) a volcanologist, then c) an actress. It wasn’t until shortly after my 18th birthday that I sat down to write my first (terrible) novel.

OUR CHEMICAL HEARTS, thankfully, is slightly better than that hot mess. Nonetheless, I am notoriously bad at explaining what it’s about, except to say that it involves the terribly tragic and awful experience of falling in love for the first time.

I have no pets and no children, but in Amsterdam I owned a bicycle called Kim Kardashian. It was somewhat difficult to get along with. I was fond of it regardless.

Find Krystal

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


ABOUT THE BOOK

our-chemical-heartsBook Details:

Title: Our Chemical Hearts
Author: Krystal Sutherland
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 04, 2016
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover, eBook, Audio

John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.

Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he’s been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything’s about to change.

Grace isn’t who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys’ clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It’s obvious there’s something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn’t your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland’s brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

Book Links:

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Goodreads | Publisher

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

  • Advance readers copy of Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

The Rules:

  • Open International
  • There will be one (1) winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced through rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends October 5th, 2016
  • Prizes will be sent by the author

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

Treat yourself to a complete #CelebratingDebutantes2016 experience. Click the image below for the full list of schedule and links to each second wave feature post!

CD2016 Second Wave Collage
12 responses to “Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (Author Interview + Giveaway)

  1. D says:

    This isn’t something I’d normally read, but this has me very interested.

    I also love the cover!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. crazyrichbibliophile says:

    Wow! This really looks interesting! 🙂 I want to read and this book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Smith Meloche Kingdom of Ash and Briars by Hannah West Resurrecting Sunshine by Lisa A. Koosis Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow The Last Life of Avrilis by Bethany Morrow Songs about a Girl by […]

    Like

  4. norahsumner says:

    Uh, first love is indeed bittersweet!

    Like

  5. I can’t wait to read this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Heartwarming and funny? John Green meets Rainbow Rowell? I didn’t think it was possible to want to read this book more than I already did!!!! Awesome interview 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

