Celebrating Debutantes · FEATURES · Giveaways · Interviews

Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Girls in the Moon by Janet McNally (Author Interview + Giveaway)

Celebrating Debutantes 2016 Second Wave

Happy Sunday everyone!

I’m so excited for today not only because I’m going to meet New York times best selling author Morgan Matson in few hours but also because I am featuring another wonderful author and novel on the blog. Debut author Janet McNally answers few questions for me about her upcoming YA contemporary novel, Girls in the Moon. I am told that this novel is wonderfully told which I am really looking forward of experiencing myself. Contemporary novels are usually those reads that give me all the feels and Girls in the Moon seems one of those reads.

To learn more about Girls in the Moon and the author, Janet McNally scroll down after the interview. And don’t forget to check the giveaway for a chance to win an advance readers copy of the book.

Enjoy reading the interview.

Interview with Janet McNally

I’m so excited for Girls in the Moon to hit shelves this year. It’s one of my most anticipated read. How excited are you with your first novel? Any expectations or hope?

Oh, thank you! I’m really excited. I’ve wanted to be a novelist since I was a child, when I used to write stories all the time. I don’t have many particular expectations, but it’s been fun to see what all my other debut friends in the Sweet Sixteens have been doing. I’ve learned a lot from them.

Can you tell us a bit about your journey with Girls in the Moon? When did you first come up with the idea and what were the timescales involved between the first draft and the novel being accepted for publication?

It’s always hard for me to remember when an idea first came into being. I know that I wanted to write about sisters, and since I have small daughters of my own, I also wanted to write about mothers and daughters. I love music and I’ve spent a lot of time with bands, so that part came naturally, I think. I began the book in 2014 and we sold it in early 2015.

Girls in the Moon is told from alternating point of views and different timelines. What’s the trickiest or most fun aspect of switching from one character’s head and time to the other’s when writing?

I actually wrote all of Phoebe’s parts first, so when I wrote the parts from the POV of Meg, her mother, I could really get into Meg’s POV. Her scenes are more like vignettes, and they were really fun to write. Phoebe and her sister Luna has so many questions about their mother’s past, so it was fun to answer some of those questions for myself.

Girls in the Moon has a strong focus on family. How much does this reflect on your own life?

I don’t have a sister, just a younger brother I adore. I’ve always been fascinated by sister relationships, though, so I tend to write about sisters a lot. I have three very small daughters, and that just deepened my interest, watching them develop their personalities and relationships. Also, as their mom and an artist, I was thinking a lot about what kind of artist mother I wanted to be. Writing Meg helped me to think about that.

What is one thing you hope readers will learn/get from reading Girls in the Moon?

I hope the book will make people think about all the things we don’t totally understand about the people we love. Families have their storms and their calm, but there’s always so much happening under the surface. I also love how Phoebe learns a little more about what she wants and who she wants to be. I hope the book will encourage readers to do just that.

If Phoebe would write a haiku to tease us and describe her story in Girls in the Moon, what would it be?

Secrets, sisters and
songs. The moon is always there.
Let’s tell a story.

Are you working on any project right now? What we should expect from you after Girls in the Moon?

You can expect ballet and fairy tales and road trips. Missing sisters and tiny rescue dogs. Fleetwood Mac. The Lincoln Memorial, diners, rock shows. Lots of secrets, as usual. 🙂

Thank you so much Janet for taking time to answer all my questions above. I am really looking forward for the release of Girls in the Moon in November.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

author-janet-mcnallyThough her family is not rock and roll royalty, Janet McNally has always liked boys in bands. (She even married one.) She has an MFA from the University of Notre Dame, and her stories and poems have been published widely in magazines. She has twice been a fiction fellow with the New York Foundation for the Arts. Janet lives in Buffalo with her husband and three little girls, in a house full of records and books, and teaches creative writing at Canisius College. Girls in the Moon is her first novel, but she’s also the author of a prizewinning collection of poems, Some Girls.

Find Janet

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads


ABOUT THE BOOK

girls-in-the-moonBook Details:

Title: Girls in the Moon
Author: Janet McNally
Publication Date: November 29, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover, eBook

An exquisitely told, authentic YA debut about family secrets, the shadow of fame, and finding your own way.

Everyone in Phoebe Ferris’s life tells a different version of the truth. Her mother, Meg, ex–rock star and professional question evader, shares only the end of the story—the post-fame calm that Phoebe’s always known. Her sister, Luna, indie-rock darling of Brooklyn, preaches a stormy truth of her own making, selectively ignoring the facts she doesn’t like. And her father, Kieran, the cofounder of Meg’s beloved band, hasn’t said anything at all since he stopped calling three years ago.

But Phoebe, a budding poet in search of an identity to call her own, is tired of half-truths and vague explanations. When she visits Luna in New York, she’s determined to find out how she fits in to this family of storytellers, and to maybe even continue her own tale—the one with the musician boy she’s been secretly writing for months. Told in alternating chapters, Phoebe’s first adventure flows as the story of Meg and Kieran’s romance ebbs, leaving behind only a time-worn, precious pearl of truth about her family’s past—and leaving Phoebe to take a leap into her own unknown future.

Book Links:

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads | iBooks | Publisher

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

  • ARC of Girls in the Moon by Janet McNally

The Rules:

  • Open US residents only
  • There will be one (1) winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced through rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends October 9th, 2016
  • Prize will be sent by the author

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

Treat yourself to a complete #CelebratingDebutantes2016 experience. Click the image below for the full list of schedule and links to each second wave feature post!

CD2016 Second Wave Collage
3 thoughts on “Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Girls in the Moon by Janet McNally (Author Interview + Giveaway)

Leave a Reply

