Celebrating Debutantes · FEATURES · Giveaways · Interviews

Celebrating Debutantes 2016: At First Blush by Beth Ellyn Summer (Author Interview + Giveaway)

Celebrating Debutantes 2016 Second Wave

Today I’m thrilled to have another wonderful author and a fun novel to feature as part of the Second Wave of Celebrating Debutantes blog event.

Author Beth Ellyn Summer is nice enough to answer few questions for me about her writing and her upcoming debut contemporary novel At First Blush. If you like fun, light and romantic contemporary read, don’t forget to add At First Blush on your to watch out titles. The book will hit shelves in November 1st.

To learn more about At First Blush and the author, Beth Ellyn Summer scroll down after the interview. And don’t forget to check the giveaway for a chance to win fabulous prizes from Beth.

Enjoy reading the interview.

Interview with Beth Ellyn Summer

Not every author grew up considering themselves as a writer. When and how did you discover your inner muse? Did you know what sort of stories you wanted to tell or did you just sort of feel your way? How did the inspiration for At First Blush come?

Writing has always been the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do. I actually can’t remember a time I didn’t know it was my dream job, but I fell in love with YA specifically when I discovered Sarah Dessen novels!

So the inspiration for At First Blush came in stages. I interned for Conan O’Brien and Jimmy Fallon in college and that’s when the seeds of an idea for a story about an internship at a late night talk show were planted in my mind. Then a couple of summers later I binge-watched makeup tutorials on YouTube. I’d try (and fail) to replicate all those smoky eyes, and overall just became so fascinated with the world of YouTubers. They have this incessant drive to get millions of subscribers, but with those numbers come a lot of hateful comments. Once I had the basics of Lacey’s storyline drafted, I decided her best friend should be interning for a late night talk show. After that, the story wrote itself!

What brand would you like to establish as a writer? How do you plan to reinforce that brand?

My brand is absolutely “The Girly Author.” Everything I write has a girly, fun, chick-lit vibe. I think I establish that by keeping my online presence light and fun, associating colors (which I think really help build a brand) like pinks and whites for my website and social media.

Do you recognize any parts of yourself in your lead character Lacey Robbins?

We’re not too much alike but there are a few similarities: we both love makeup, and if I’m around a makeup palette I will start swatching colors on the back of my hand, like she always does. We’re also both very driven and career oriented.

I love a good love interest! What makes Tyler Lance special?

Ah, Tyler 🙂 Well, Tyler’s dating history is longer than Lacey’s Sephora wishlist. So, there’s that. But as spoiled as he is, he’s also incredibly naive. He was the heartthrob of Simply Complicated (a band he was in with his brother and cousin) for years, and now that he’s gone solo, he’s got a lot to prove to the world, and–more importantly for him–to his family.

Another thing I love about Tyler is that he never asks anyone any questions. It stems from a life of having paparazzi fire off ridiculous questions at him. Admittedly, it made editing his dialogue super tricky–I kept accidentally slipping in a question!

If Lacey can pick one celebrity to work with as a make-up artist, who would it be and why?

This is hard to narrow down but I think Lacey would love to work with Zendaya Coleman. I don’t think there’s one set style that defines Zendaya; she’s fearless on a red carpet, and Lacey would have so much fun and no limits coming up with an awesome look.

Where do you see your writing going after the release of At First Blush? Do you think you’ll stick writing YA contemporary fiction or branch out into something else?

I adore YA contemp, and I’m currently revising a new YA contemp! But I absolutely see myself writing other things down the line. I’ve always wanted to try my hand at a middle grade story some day, and there’s another story I’m drafting that seems to want to drift into the twenty-something age range, no matter how hard I try to “YA” it!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author Beth Eellyn SummerBeth Ellyn Summer writes contemporary young adult fiction that somehow always includes the following elements: fame, makeup, and television. She graduated from Long Island University with a degree in Print and Electronic Journalism. Interning for Conan O’Brien and Jimmy Fallon was the highlight of her college years. When she’s not writing, Beth can be found swatching eyeshadows, solving Wheel of Fortune puzzles, and playing with her adorable cat, Penny Belle. Beth lives on Long Island in a cookie cutter town that, in an ironic twist of fate, doesn’t have a single decent bakery.

Find Beth

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Pinterest


ABOUT THE BOOK

At First BlushBook Details:

Title: At First Blush
Author: Beth Ellyn Summer
Publisher: Bloomsbury Spark
Publication Date: November 01, 2016
Pages: 250
Format: eBook

Who would have thought that a teenager could have a successful career creating makeup tutorial videos on YouTube? For Lacey Robbins, this dream has been her reality. An up-and-coming YouTuber, she has thousands of fans and can’t wait for the day when her subscriber count reaches the one million mark. And when she is offered a high school internship at On Trend Magazine, she figures that this could be the make it or break it moment.

But sometimes your dream job isn’t all that it seems. Her editor is only interested in promoting junk products, and her boss in the Hair and Makeup department introduces her to the larger world of makeup artistry, making her wonder if making tutorials online is all she is meant to do. To top it all off, when the magazine’s feature subject, musician Tyler Lance, turns his broodingly handsome smile her way, falling for him could mean losing her fans, forcing her to make a decision: her YouTube life or her real life?

Fans of Zoella’s GIRL ONLINE will fall right into the world of this YA DEVIL WEARS PRADA and stay hooked from the first blush to the last glossy kiss.

Book Links:

Amazon | Goodreads | Publisher

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

  • elf blush brush
  • elf matte lip color in “Dash of Pink”
  • elf cream eyeliner in “Coffee” (comes with a small brush)
  • signed bookmark
    At First Blush Giveaway Prize

The Rules:

  • Open to US/CA only
  • There will be one (1) winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced by rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends October 13th, 2016
  • Prizes will be sent by the author

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

Treat yourself to a complete #CelebratingDebutantes2016 experience. Click the image below for the full list of schedule and links to each second wave feature post!

CD2016 Second Wave Collage
4 thoughts on “Celebrating Debutantes 2016: At First Blush by Beth Ellyn Summer (Author Interview + Giveaway)

  1. Great interview! I cannot wait to get my hands on At First Blush, and read all about Lacey & Tyler. I kind of feel like they’re friends of a friend that I hear about, but haven’t met yet. 😉 And maybe Lacey will be able to give me some makeup pointers- I sure could use them, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

