Celebrating Debutantes, FEATURES, Giveaways, Interviews

Celebrating Debutantes 2017: If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak (Author Interview and Giveaway)

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Today I’m joined on the blog by new author Carlie Sorosiak for a short interview about her debut contemporary novel, If Birds Fly Back. This fun novel introduced adorable characters, Linny and the nerdy boy Sebastian. As well as offers unique reading experience by adding snippets, quotations and excerpts from Sebastian’s favourite physics book.

Following the interview with Carlie is her author bio along with places where to find her online. Then there’s also the book description and where to buy copies of If Birds Fly Back. And if you are in the United States and you’d like the chance to win a hardcover copy of the book and bookmark, enter the rafflecopter form a bit further down in this post for a chance to win.

Here’s my interview with Carlie. Enjoy reading!

Interview with Carlie Sorosiak

Congratulations on your debut novel, If Birds Fly Back! My first question is about the extra clippings you add in the story. There are journal excerpts, screenplay excerpts and even quotations from a physics book in If Birds Fly Back. Had you always planned to write the book with those? Is there anything you wanted to accomplish by adding them?

Thank you so much! And actually, no—I hadn’t always planned to write a book that included those excerpts. They didn’t exist in earlier drafts of If Birds Fly Back, and funnily enough, weren’t included until the first round of edits with my publishers! The goal was to give the reader a better sense of the way Linny and Sebastian’s minds work, and I also had a lot of fun writing them.

If Birds Fly Back is written in dual perspectives of both male and female protagonists, giving readers a much-appreciated peek into both narratives. What was your approach to each character? Which was easier to write, Linny or Sebastian? Why?

Linny came first, way before Sebastian. I originally envisioned the story from completely her point of view, but as the narrative progressed, I fell more and more in love with Sebastian’s personality. Linny was much more quietly pensive, while Sebastian thought of everything in Technicolor. In a way, Linny is much more like me, so she was quite natural to write; but overall, I think Sebastian was easier: I wrote his sections so quickly. He seemed to have a mind of his own!

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing If Birds Fly Back?

I learned so much about astrophysics while writing my book, and I loved that! The research greatly expanded my understanding of the universe, and my place within it. I was most surprised to learn about the idea of the fourth dimension—and I’m still trying to wrap my mind around it!

Do you have any advice for writers hoping to get their books published?

Take advice from people you trust, and everyone else’s advice with a bucket of salt. Trusted beta readers are crucial!

If one of your characters could turn the tables on you and write a story based on your teenage years, what would the title of that book be? What would be the first line?

That’s such a difficult question—mostly because it takes me months to come up with a good title! It would probably be called Egghead, and the first line might read: “Sometimes being smart really sucks.”

Are you working on any project right now? What can we expect from you in the near future?

Yes! I just finished line edits for my second YA standalone novel, out in summer 2018. You can expect: more love, more family, and a little bit of magic.

Thanks so much Carlie!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Carlie Sorosiak grew up in North Carolina and holds two master’s degrees: one in English from Oxford University and another in creative writing and publishing from City University London. Her life goals include traveling to all seven continents and fostering many polydactyl cats. She currently splits her time between the United States and the United Kingdom, hoping to gain an accent like Madonna’s. Visit her online at www.carliesorosiak.com.

Find Carlie

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


ABOUT THE BOOK

Book Details:

Title: If Birds Fly
Author: Carlie Sorosiak
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 27, 2017
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook

A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe.

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye.

Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father.

They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for.

With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord.

Book Links

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Goodreads | Publisher

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

    • Hardcover copy of If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak
    • If Birds Fly Back Bookmark

The Rules:

  • Open to US residents
  • There will be one (1) winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced through rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends July 26th, 2017
  • Prizes will be sent by the author

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

Treat yourself to a complete #CelebratingDebutantes2017 experience. Click the image below for the full list of schedule and links to each feature post or check out twitter and facebook using #CelebratingDebutantes2017.

4 thoughts on “Celebrating Debutantes 2017: If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak (Author Interview and Giveaway)”

  1. great interview! If Birds Fly Back sounds like a creative and fun read. I don’t think I own a fiction book with journal and screenplay excerpts. Thanks for featuring this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.