Books, REVIEWS

The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

“He didn’t know how to hate unless he had something to love.” For twenty years, the Palomas and the Corbeaus have been rivals and enemies, locked in an escalating feud for over a generation. Both families make their living as traveling performers in competing shows—the Palomas swimming in mermaid exhibitions, the Corbeaus, former tightrope walkers,… Continue reading The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

Books, REVIEWS

Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope. Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it… Continue reading Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu

Books, REVIEWS

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

“Why choose fear over love? In what world does that make sense?” Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now... Henry and Flora. For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And… Continue reading The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

Books, REVIEWS

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King

“Not living your life is just like killing yourself, only it takes longer.” In this masterpiece about freedom, feminism, and destiny, Printz Honor author A.S. King tells the epic story of a girl coping with devastating loss at long last--a girl who has no idea that the future needs her, and that the present needs… Continue reading Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King