BLACKPLUME

lover of written words

Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods (Character Interview with Wil + Giveaway)

on March 20, 2016

Celebrating Debutantes 2016

This is it! Finally I will be able to share to all of you this upcoming YA contemporary debut novel Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods. Ever since I read the book last February, I’m excited to feature it here on the blog so everyone will know about this fun and beautiful story that kept me smiling and laughing in the best way possible. Today we have the main character, Wil for a short interview which I hope will convinced you to read more of her story when the book hit the shelves in May 2016.

To know more about this upcoming release and Darcy Woods, check the author’s bio and book’s description that follows after the interview, as well as links where to find Darcy and where to pre-order copies of Summer of Supernovas.

And don’t forget to check the giveaway as well at the bottom for a chance to win a signed advance readers’ copy and swoony swags pack. Also, watch out for my review near the publication date.

Interview with Wil of Summer of Supernovas

To start things off, will you introduce yourself so everyone knows a little bit more about you?

I’m Wilamena Carlisle, but please, call me Wil! The only people who call me Wilamena are random strangers or my gram when she’s madder than a shaken up nest of hornets. So, other things about me? Let’s see . . . I’m seventeen. I adore astrology and all things celestial, but you probably already guessed that. Someone recently called me quirky? I don’t know, maybe it’s the cateye glasses or the fact that my head is literally stuck in the clouds. But I really am a practical dreamer at heart. Oh! I also have this deep and abiding love of vintage, particularly 40s era—hair, clothes, accessories—everything! Here’s a couple fave pieces from my retro collection:

ring earrings

What’s fascinates you about astrology? And can you share some interesting things/facts about it to us?

Um . . . how much time do we have? Because I could seriously natter on till next Tuesday. 🙂 One of the things I find so insanely fascinating, is that some of the oldest known references to astrology date back to 1700 BC. That’s right, BC! Mind-blowing, right?! And I think it’s interesting how many cultures looked to astrology for guidance—Indians, Chinese, Mayans, Greeks, Romans, Arabs—it’s like a global unifier. A metaphysical group hug, if you will. Sometimes when I lie in the grass, staring up to the stars in search of answers, I imagine someone in another pocket of the planet doing the same thing. Somehow that makes the world feel both bigger and smaller. I think we all just want to understand our purpose and why we’re here.

So, Seth and Grant huh?! Looks like the stars aligned themselves for you. And because I’m feeling jealousy right now, let me just ask, how does it feel to have two gorgeous, talented and swoon worthy guys vying for your attention?

It feels a little like standing at the edge of a high dive platform, toes curled, and preparing to leap into the earth’s bubbly, molten core. I know. Probably not the answer you’re expecting, but it’s true. Because I would give Seth and Grant the sun, moon, and stars if I could. But someone is going to get hurt. And it’s going to burn me to ashes when the inevitable happens.

Let’s say you meet your Dad today, what are the things you want to tell or ask him?

Gosh. There are so many questions! Painful ones. And happy ones. But I think there are two that eclipse all of them:
What is your favorite memory of my mom?
Do I make you proud to be my father?

If you can have one more day with your mom, what are the things that you’ll do together beside star gazing?

I think . . . I would want that pancake breakfast we never got to have. Me, my mom, Gram—all of us together. But Gram would be in charge of the pancakes. Mama’s always ended up like lop-sided, burnt stars. We’d listen to Dean Martin (because it would make Gram happy), I’d sing into a spatula (because it would make me happy), and my mom would laugh, because Gram and I are the epitome of our sun signs. Then we’d go to the beach, revel in the wind and water, and say the things people say when there are only precious hours left between them.

How is Darcy as a “boss?” Considering that she wrote the book, she must have asked you some pretty personal and inappropriate questions.

Oh, she did! She asked me things I didn’t even want to ask myself! And sometimes I’d refuse to answer. But I’d always come around, usually between the hours of two and three in the morning. We occasionally argued—Darcy’s an accomplished swearer—but we always made up. She let me wear her favorite shoes (check out that pic below!), and then I baked her Gram’s special cinnamon rolls.

cherry shoes

One last thing, what’s the coolest astronomy event in your opinion?

Easy. A supernova. Seeing the face of a star as it dies? It’s the kind of image that imprints on your soul. There is truly nothing like it.

Thank you so much Wil for stopping by today and for taking the time to answer all my questions above. Thanks so much also to Darcy for allowing Wil. Looking forward to the released of Summer of Supernovas in May.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author Darcy WoodsYoung adult author Darcy Woods had three big loves in grade school: reading, writing, and pizza day. Some things never change. She lives in Michigan with her madly supportive husband, two tuxedo cats (who overdress for everything) and a closet full of neatly organized shoes. Once upon a time, she served in a US Army aviation unit and threw live grenades. Now she throws words. SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS is her Golden Heart®-winning debut novel and will be translated in over five languages.

Find Darcy

Website | Facebook | Twitter | InstagramGoodreads


ABOUT THE BOOK

Summer of SupernovasBook Details:

Title: Summer of Supernovas
Author: Darcy Woods
Publisher: Random House / CrownBFYR
Publication Date: May 10, 2016
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover, eBook

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

Book Links:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound| Powell’s | Goodreads

 

Giveaway:

What’s up for Grab?

  • signed Summer of Supernovas ARC and full swoony swag pack

 

Summer of Supernovas Giveaway

The Rules:

  • Open to US/Canada addresses only
  • There will be one (1) winner
  • Winner will be chosen and announced by rafflecopter
  • Winner will be contacted thru email & should response within 48 hours
  • Ends April 10, 2016
  • Prizes will be sent by the author

To enter fill out the rafflecopter form

Good Luck!!!

Treat yourself to a complete #CelebratingDebutantes2016 experience. Click the image below for the full list of schedule and links to each feature post!

celebrating debutantes 2016 collage

 

Advertisements

11 responses to “Celebrating Debutantes 2016: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods (Character Interview with Wil + Giveaway)

  1. isisthe12th says:

    Summer of supernovas sounds awesome ♡ I love the cover! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Jennifer E. Smith’s books, so I am sold on this one. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Caitlin says:

    Thank you. This one sounds interesting.

    Like

  4. […] Sarah Alexander March 19, 2016 – The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith March 20, 2016 – Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods March 21, 2016 – The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary by Laura Shovan March 22, 2016 […]

    Like

  5. Nicole Wetherington says:

    Looks like a sweet read!

    Like

  6. izlight says:

    seems a fun read! Will check this one. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • blackplume says:

      You should izzy! This is the book I’m telling you to read. It isn’t out yet but I’ll be sending you a copy via book depository once the book release.

      Liked by 1 person

      • izlight says:

        you told me lots of books. And I honestly can’t remember all of them. Your recommendations are crazy long! I need to catch up soon with you. I really don’t know how you managed to read all these books with everything else you are doing! Hats off to you! really!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: